Handwriting Contest Winners Announced; 20th Annual Statewide Competition

Julie Agard
assistant professor, Department of Teacher Education, 308.865.8556

UNK– The winners of the 20th annual Nebraska State Handwriting Contest, which is sponsored by the University of Nebraska at Kearney, were announced this week.

Among the first place winners, and their categories, were Kyler Peetz of North Loup, age 12 and under; Ema Sanchez of Kearney, ages 13-16; Rita Vogel of Clarkson, ages 17-49; and Norine Nieman of Omaha, ages 50 and over.

“The age 50 and over category always produces excellent examples of legible handwriting, and this year was true to form,” said Julie Agard, Department of Teacher Education assistant professor. “For the first time ever, the judges named four honorable mentions in this age category.”

The competition was sponsored and judged by UNK education faculty, and endorsed by the Nebraska State Education Association and the Nebraska State Department of Education. Prizes awarded were gift cards contributed by the UNK Antelope Bookstore.

“Elementary teachers were, once again, especially supportive of the curriculum-based activity and provided the largest number of entries for an age group,” Agard said.

Competitors were divided into four age categories: age 12 and under, ages 13-16, ages 17-49, and ages 50 and over.  The entries were evaluated for ease of reading, fluent rhythmic movement with technically correct performance of specifications such as the slope, space, size and shape of the letters. The general layout of each entry was taken into account, along with neatness of presentation.

Winners of the Nebraska State Handwriting Contest in each category are listed below, alphabetically by hometown:

Age 12 and under

Kearney– Angel Fuentes, honorable mention; and Eli Wolfe, second place. 
North Loup
– Kyler Peetz, first place.

Ages 13-16

Holbrook– Shae Sughroue, second place. 
– Ema Sanchez, first place.

Ages 17- 49

Clarkson– Rita Vogel, first place.
Franklin– Julie Bydalek, second place.

Ages 50 and over

Grand Island
– Susan Stoeger, second place. 
– Ginny Fehringer, honorable mention. 
– Denise Smith, honorable mention. 
– Karen Saathoff, honorable mention.
Omaha– Norine Nieman, first place. 
– Theresé Cockerill, honorable mention.