Dr. Jim Payne
Jazz Rock Ensemble director, 308.865.8606

UNK- The University of Nebraska at Kearney Jazz Rock Ensemble will present
a concert of big band sounds Saturday, April 24, on the campus.

Directed by Dr. Jim Payne, UNK professor of music, the Jazz Rock Ensemble
will perform works from the swing era to newer charts of the big bands of
the present. They will perform jazz pieces styled in several types of
swing, Latin, jazz rock fusion, Cajun street beat, ballad and funk.

The concert is set for 7:30 p.m. in the UNK Fine Arts Recital Hall. The
performance is free and open to the public.

“The UNK Jazz Rock Ensemble brings together UNK students from Nebraska and
Michigan to play great music from the best big bands and big band writers
in the nation,” Dr. Payne said.

Selections will include music by Gordon Goodwin, Bob Brookmeyer, Woody
Herman, Les Hooper, and Doc Severinsen and the Tonight Show Band. Music
written by Billy Strayhorn, Eliane Elias, Eric Richards, Antonio Carlos
Jobim, Bob Curnow, Frank Mantooth and Denis DiBlasio will also be

Instrumental soloists including piano, guitar, saxophone, trumpet, trombone
and drums will be featured throughout the performance.

UNK Jazz Rock Ensemble members, along with the instruments they play, are
listed below, alphabetically by hometown:

Amherst- Chris Gugel, alto saxophone
Arcadia- Robert Roth, trumpet
Aurora – Ashley Lawton, trumpet
Axtell – Miles Margritz, drums
Beatrice – Troy Ehmke, alto saxophone
Cozad – Andee Bubak, trumpet
Fremont – Josh Steager
Gering – David Kelley, electric bass
Grand Island – Ted Fattig, guitar; Ryne Miller, bari saxophone
Holdrege – Eric Jones, drums
Kearney – Tyler Allen, trombone
Lexington – Arturo Banderas, trombone; Dayvid Cardenas, drums and bass;
Joel Montes, drums
Lincoln – Paul Ewalt, piano
McCook – Casey Cobb, tenor saxophone
Minden – Wil Gleason, trumpet
Newport – Cameron Scheibe, trombone
O’Neill – Jordan Peterson, piano
Osmond – Clint Dennis, trombone

Southfield – Anthony Ford, tenor saxophone