Annual Juried Student Exhibition Awards Announced at UNK

John Fronczak

UNK- The Annual Juried Student Art Exhibition 2010 awards have been announced at the University of Nebraska at Kearney Walker Art Gallery.

This year, 58 artwork pieces were chosen from among 164 entries to be included in the exhibition. Entries were judged in eight categories including: painting, printmaking, photography, drawing, ceramics, design, glass and sculpture.

Jennifer Higerd, a graduate teaching assistant at Fort Hays (Kansas) State University juried the competition this year. Higerd holds bachelor of arts degrees in political science, French and international studies from Kansas State University in Manhattan. She also has a bachelor of fine arts, with an emphasis in graphic design, from Fort Hays State University.

In 2009, Higerd received a student research grant to investigate the potentials of porcelain. Her exhibitions include the 17th San Angelo National Ceramic Competition, the University of Dallas 2009 Regional Juried Ceramic Competition, the 10 Women 2009 Invitational Exhibition and the Kansas Artists Craftsmen Association Members Exhibition.

Sponsored by the UNK Art Society, the annual exhibition allows undergraduate students to display their work.

The exhibit is on display now through Thursday, March 11. The gallery, which is located in the UNK Fine Arts Building, is open from 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Monday-Friday. The gallery is free and open to the public.

Award winners for the Annual Juried Student Art Exhibition 2010 are listed below.

Best of Show – Michael Kennedy from Cheyenne, Wyo., for his mixed media piece titled, “Angelina Jolie Zombie.”

Gold – Natalie Sindelar from Republican City for “Despair”
Silver –  Natalie Valarik from Grand Island for “The Becoming II”
Bronze – Rachel Vogel from Howells for “Modern Art”

Gold – Jake Hoffmaster from Lexington for “Old Man”
Silver – Julie Polk from Kearney for “Audrey”
Bronze – Jeremy Eggleston from Loup City for “Cycle Girl”

Gold – Amber Kosmicki from Holdrege for “Bath Time”
Silver – Lacie Wiese from Doniphan for “The Pianist’s Percussion”
Bronze – Sarah Miller from Imperial for “Self Portrait”

Gold – Caleb Chvatal from Fremont for “Brutus”
Silver – Michael Kennedy from Cheyenne, Wyo., for “Hercules”

Gold – Amy Jacobson from Kearney for “GO 4”
Silver – Trevor Hyatt from Lexington for “Untitled Teapot”
Bronze – Lacie Wiese from Doniphan for “Emerald Bowl”

Gold – Steve Wolf from Kearney for “Bruce Willis”
Silver – Julie Polk from Kearney for “Alice in Wonderland”
Bronze – Kat Tinkham from Fort Calhoun for “Moulin Rouge”

Gold – Paul Engler from North Platte for “Simia Simia 2”
Silver- Naoyuki Takeda from Aomori, Japan, for “Tall Vase”
Bronze – Paul Engler from North Platte for “Nao in Relief”

Gold – Amy Jacobson from Kearney for “Untitled (Hive)”
Silver – Amy Jacobson from Kearney for “Untitled (Variable Structure)”
Bronze- Thomas Dircksen from Kearney for “Evolution”­­­­

All students whose work was selected for inclusion in the exhibition, and the categories of their artwork, are listed below, alphabetically by hometown.

Cambridge– Joseph McHale, paint and sculpture
Cozad– Jaysie Ross, paint
Doniphan– Lacie Wiese, ceramic and photo
Fort Calhoun– Kat Tinkham, design
Fremont– Caleb Chvatal, design and draw
Grand Island– Natalie Valalik, paint
Holdrege– Amber Kosmicki, photo
Howells– Rachel Vogel, paint
Imperial– Sarah Miller, photo
Kearney– Thomas Dircksen, sculpture; Rachel Einspahr, photo; Amy Jacobson, ceramic and sculpture; Ry Lowry, paint; Taylor Moore, glass; Julie Polk, design and print; Steve Wolf, design;
Lexington– Jake Hoffmaster, print; Trevor Hyatt, ceramic
Loup City– Jeremy Eggleston, paint and print
Malcolm– Alice Berryman, paint
North Platte– Paul Engler, glass
Republican City– Natalie Sindelar, paint
Syracuse– Jessica Blex, design

Cheyenne– Michael Kennedy, design and paint

Aomori– Naoyuki Takeda, glass
Matsuyama– Daisuke Yamaguchi, paint

Amsterdam – Rachel Walker, paint