UNK Visual Communication and Design Majors Take Awards at AIGA Show and Competitions

Richard Schuessler
professor of art, 308.865.8350

UNK– Thirteen University of Nebraska at Kearney visual communication and design majors recently won more than 15 awards at the state and national AIGA student design competitions.

Four UNK students had their design work accepted into the national competition. Afton Palmer of Omaha, Caleb Chivtal of Fremont, Nate Eskra of Beatrice and Kat Tinkham of Fort Calhoun all had posters selected as finalists in the national competition. Palmer took “Best” in the poster category.

A total of 13 UNK students had work accepted into the AIGA state show. Chvital was a gold level recipient with his poster, “Identity.”

Silver award recipients include UNK students Song Yang of China with an identity system, “Rifle-Gun”; Amy Jacobson ofKearney with her motion interactive “Typographic Expression: Apollinaire + Brody” and for an identity system, “Kopesetik”; Brandy Nichols of Kearney with a promotion titled, “The Big Show”; Steve Wolf of Kearney with an identity system, “Evoke”; Jared Muehlenkamp of Beatrice for packaging titled, “Outlaw Alcohol”; and Palmer for a poster, “The Birds.”

Bronze recipients included Wolf for an illustration. Ryan Miller of Grand Island earned two awards for sports apparel design. Bethany Rachow of Kearney, Alice Berryman of Malcolm, Brian Margheim of Kearney and Eskra received bronze awards for their posters.