‘All Choirs’ Concert Scheduled for Sunday (Oct. 11) at UNK

Dr. David Bauer
Department of Music, 308-865-8609

UNK-  “I Dream a World” is the theme for the University of Nebraska at Kearney all choirs concert set for Sunday (Oct. 11) on the campus.

The Choraleers, UNK Vocal Collegium, University Women’s Choir and University Men’s Choir, all under the direction of Dr. David Bauer, will perform beginning at 3 p.m. in the UNK Fine Arts Recital Hall. According to Dr. Bauer, UNK director of choirs, each selection in the concert focuses on a dream of hope and peace to the world.

“This theme resonates with people in 2009, as it has forever,” Dr. Bauer said. “The listener is going to hear beautiful young voices singing beautiful repertoire.” Each choir will each perform a selection of songs related to the theme, and soloists will be featured among the groups throughout the performance.

Opening the concert will be the University Women’s Choir with the “Hymn to Freedom,” followed by the internationally acclaimed composition “Inscription of Hope.” The choir will conclude their portion of the concert with two compositions titled “Come to My Garden” and “We Rise Again.” The University Men’s Choir repertoire will include “Gonna Build a Mountain” and “Awakening.”

The UNK Vocal Collegium, a small vocal ensemble known for performing a cappella literature, will perform “These Things Shall Never Die,” “Look to this Day” and a gospel piece titled “Reach Out and Touch!”

The Choraleers will perform three 20th century compositions titled “Canticle: The Hungry Angels,” “In the Heart of the World” and “For the Sake of Our Children.”

All choirs will combine to conclude the evening with a performance of Joan Szymko’s setting of “I Dream a World.”

The members of each chorus are listed below alphabetically by hometown, state and country:


Albion- Rudi Sup, Dustin McBride
Arapahoe- Aaron McCoy, Joshua Beck
Columbus- Alexander Ritter, Jonathan Danforth
Dalton- Blake Thompson
Edison- Russell Miller
Elwood- Jessica Ferguson
Fremont- Bronwyn Mitchell
Grand Island- Phillip Zuehlke, Patrick York, Shaylie Murphy, Aranea Push
Hastings- Christine Cottam
Holdrege- Brooke Scripter, Amber Kosmicki
Hordville- Trevor Schnabel
Humphrey- Jordan Costello
Imperial- Nicholas Talbott
Juniata- Addison Heeren
Kearney- Morgan Behle, Janelle Beutler, Joshua Englund, Sarah Hild,  Amy Jensen, Matthew Jensen, Jarrett Johnston, Mary Lanka, Madeline Mawby, Kaylei Oliver, Mark Rauert, Katherine Ridder, James Russell, Kassie Sabah, James Wolf
Kimball- Lisa Childs
Lincoln- Tyler Smith, Dana Hilde
Milford- Kendra Larsen
North Platte- Robbie Heinzen, Michael Conley
Ogallala- Deidre Volberding, Lauren Rudolph, Johanna Engel
Omaha- Sydney Broyles
O’Neill- Jordan Peterson
Ord- Robert Roth
Osmond- Clint Dennis
Overton- Jalisa Bauer
Seward- Katherine Bauer
Tecumseh- Derek Wolken

Woodland Park- Shawna Beeler

Gulf Breeze- Anthony Ward

Adel- Kirk Reisetter

Goodland- Jillian Parker
Herndon- Kendra Solko
Norton- Danielle Wuest
Oberlin- Kenzie Fisher

Arapahoe- Aaron McCoy
Edison- Russell Miller
Grand Island- Aranea Push, Mark Rauert, Patrick York
Holdrege- Amber Kosmicki, Brooke Scripter
Kearney- Kassie Sabah
Lincoln- Dana Hilde, Tyler Smith
Ogallala- Deidre Volberding
Seward- Katherine Bauer

Woodland Park- Shawna Beeler

Courtland- Danielle Wuest
Goodland- Jillian Parker

Men’s Chorus:

Alma- Sam Doubet
Arapahoe- Joshua Beck
Axtell- Kellin Myers
Burwell- Dillon Nelson, James Weber
Columbus- Jonathan Danforth
Gering- Luke Stobel
Kearney- Zac Benson, Kyle Garrelts, Jose Munoz, Brock Persson
Lexington- Dayvid Cardenas, Joel Montes
Lincoln- Nate Rocke
North Platte- Zachary Powers
Ogallala- Mark Messner
Osmond- Clint Dennis
Scottsbluff- Zachary Durbin
Shelton- Seth Moninger
Sutherland- Jacob French
Thedford- Alan Holt
Waco- Dustin Dye
Wood River- Adam Roy

Burlington- Codie Milford

Bahamas- Rudolph McKinney
Panama- Asa Bryant

Women’s Chorus:

Auburn- Hannah Om
Axtell- Kelsey Ritter
Bayard- Jennifer McMurtry
Belgrade- Jami Scott
Bertrand- Calli Samuelson
Bridgeport- Jaicee Post
Columbus- Amanda Perdue
David City- Megan Buresh
Dickens- Brooke Harris
Elwood- Jessica Ferguson
Fremont- Bronwyn Mitchell
Grand Island- Eryn Etienne
Gretna- Jessica Bowden
Hastings- Cjrostome Cottam
Hildreth- Amaryah Fritz
Holdrege- Kaylee Jones
Humphrey- Jordan Costello
Juniata- Abbie Schuyler
Kearney- Annette Bierbower, Sarah Hild
Kenesaw- Michelle Duffy
Kimball- Danielle Perry
Lincoln- Jennifer Smith, Jennifer Zumwalt
McCook- Nicole Green, Chris Stetzel
Ogallala- Johanna Engel, Lauren Rudolph
Omaha- Megan Miller
Riverdale- Jacinda Uden
Scottsbluff- Amy Svitak
Scribner- Amber Schulenberg
St. Paul- Andrea Placke
Valley- Brandy Besch, Kathleen Sladek
Waco- Elle Bruns
Wilcox- Logan Farley

Hoxie- Kylie Lewis

China- Chuanyao Zheng
Japan- Mana Sano