UNK Students Earns Honors At PBL State Leadership Conference In Kearney

Dr. Janet Lear
UNK assistant professor of management and Phi Beta Lambda adviser, 308.865.8482

UNK- Students from the University of Nebraska at Kearney recently competed in the PBL State Leadership Conference held in Kearney.

Students from across the state competed for a chance to go to the National Leadership Conference which will be held in Atlanta in June.

According to the UNK PBL website, Phi Beta Lambda is the collegiate division of Future Business Leaders of America-Phi Beta Lambda Inc. (FBLA-PBL). The mission of PBL is to bring business and education together in a positive working relationship through innovative leadership and career programs.

PBL gives individuals the tools they need for self-improvement. Local chapters throughout the nation participate in an variety of activities both on and off campus. Membership is open to all students with an interest in any business field.

This year’s competition included Brett Brase of Aurora, who was elected vice president for membership for the state officer team.

All individual and team winning students from UNK are listed below:


Nicole Kaelin of Ansley earned third place in the Financial Concepts category and fourth place in the Business Law category


Eric LeMunyan of Atkinson earned first place in Economic Analysis and Decision Making, Financial Analysis and Decision Making and Microeconomics categories


Brian Fandry of Grand Island earned second place in Accounting for Professionals and Sports Management and Marketing categories

Mark Grupe of Grand Island earned first place in the Human Resource Management category and fifth place in the International Business category

Jennifer Unick of Litchfield earned first place in the Business Communications category

Mark Porter of Nelson earned second place in the Future Business Teacher category

Mike Eiberger of St. Paul earned third place in the Contemporary Sports Issues category, and fifth place in both the Business Law and Sports Management and Marketing categories

Team Events

First place in the Business Ethics category:

Mark Grupe of Grand Island

Jennifer Unick of Litchfield

Second place in the Parliamentary Procedure category

Molly Kincaid of Kearney

Brittanie Simmonds of McCook

Mark Porter of Nelson

Brandi McDonald of Randolph