Jazz Rock Ensemble Performs Spring Concert Saturday, April 26, At 7:30 P.M. In UNK Fine Arts Recital Hall

Dr. Jim Payne
Jazz Rock Ensemble director, 308.865.8606

UNK- The sounds of the big band era will be the theme of the night when the University of Nebraska at Kearney’s Jazz Rock Ensemble presents their spring concert on Saturday, April 26.
            The evening’s program will include works from the Latin, blues, funk and rock genres; and jazz pieces from the swing and contemporary eras. The music will be from the libraries of Johnny Long, North Texas University One O’Clock Lab Band, Tom Kubis Big Band, and Stan Kenton with tunes written by Bill Holman, Randy Brecker, Antonio Carlos Jobim, Bob Berg, Hank Levy, and Tom Kubis. There will also be featured solos by alto, tenor, and baritone saxophone, trumpet, trombone, piano, guitar, bass, and drums.
            Sgt. Chris Stelling, a 1997 graduate of the UNK Department of Music and Performing Arts and Kearney native, will serve as a guest performer. Sgt. Stelling is a member of the United States Air Force Heartland of America Band at Offutt Air Force Base.  He serves as saxophonist in the Noteables Jazz Ensemble, the Noteables Jazz Combo and principle saxophonist in the Concert Band. In his spare time, he is a top-call saxophonist in Omaha and Lincoln, performing with a variety of jazz groups.
            The concert is free and open to the public and begins at 7:30 p.m.
            The student instrumentalists, and the instrument they play, are listed below, alphabetically, by hometown and state:
Aurora- Ashley Lawton, trumpet
Beatrice- Troy Ehmke, tenor saxophone
Chadron– Jonathan Dailey, guitar
Coleridge- Sheila Pinkelman, trumpet
Grand Island- Tom Carlson, drums
Kearney- Tyler Allen, trombone and bass
Kearney- Paul Niedbalski, trombone
Kearney- Brent Roemmich, baritone saxophone
Kenesaw- Dallas Owen, trumpet
Lexington- Arturo Banderas, trombone
Lexington- Dayvid Cardenas, drums and bass
Lincoln- Paul Ewalt, piano
Omaha- Jon Flanagan, trumpet
Omaha- Matthew Morse, vibes
Ravenna- Brandon Bohn, trumpet
      WINDSOR- Dillon Riley, guitar
      Union- Brett Kluever, trombone
      Southfield- Anthony Ford, tenor saxophone
      Rock Springs- Jessica Pavlik, alto sax