Phi Beta Lambda Chapter Earns Gold Excellence Award in Statewide Competition

Janet Lear
lecturer, Department of Economics, 308.865.8482

The Phi Beta Lambda Collegiate Chapter at the University of Nebraska at Kearney earned a Gold Excellence Award, the highest ranking possible, at the state Phi Beta Lambda Spring Leadership Conference held recently in Kearney.

Competing against students from other Phi Beta Lambda chapters from across the state, nine UNK students placed individually. The chapter also received high rankings in the group project portion of the competition. Rankings in the group project portion included first in the Business Report, second in the American Enterprise Day Report and third in the Community Service Project Report.

Janet Lear, Phi Beta Lambda adviser, was named Adviser of the Year; Mike Eiberger of St. Paulwas elected vice president of membership; and Hailey Dady of Kearney was appointed assistant vice president for records.

UNK students who placed in the individual competitions, listed alphabetically by hometown, include:

Cairo – Julie Barker, fifth in Business Decision Making

Cambridge – Ashley Moore, first in Accounting for Professionals, second in Business Decision Making and first in Business Law
Clay Center – Melissa Anderson, first in Future Business Teacher and first in Word Processing

Grand Island – Alicia Rodriguez, fourth in Job Interview

Gresham – LaTona Schmieding, second in Business Decision Making, third in Human Resource Management and fifth in Economics
Kearney – Hailey Dady, first in Desktop Publishing, fifth in Business Decision Making and fifth in Computer Concepts
Marquette – Kayla Johansen, second in Business Decision Making, third in Hospitality Management and fourth in Management
North Platte – Ashley Florke, first in Desktop Publishing, second in Accounting for Professionals and fifth in Business Decision Making
St. Paul – Mike Eiberger, second in Public Speaking and third in Impromptu Speaking

Contest sponsors included the Kearney Area Chamber of Commerce, and the UNK Department of Economics and College of Business and Technology.