J.D. Hutton
Nebraska Arts Council artist services and communications manager, 402.595.2142

Celebrating Excellence, the annual retiree and service awards recognition at the University of Nebraska at Kearney, is set for 12:30 p.m. Friday, April 16, in the Nebraskan Student Union Great Room.

Fourteen UNK retirees will be recognized beginning at 1 p.m.; 75 faculty and staff members will be recognized for their years of service, beginning at 1:30 p.m.

Individuals not attending the 12:30 p.m. luncheon may join the gathering at 1 p.m. for dessert and participate in the recognition activities. Seating will be for those not attending the luncheon.

Retirees, listed alphabetically by last name, include: Paul Buresh, electronic technician for the Department of Communications; Dr. Galen Hadley, senior vice chancellor for Academic Affairs; Mike Heffernen, project manager for Facilities; Dr. Charlene Hildebrand, associate professor for the Department of Teacher Education; Dr. Gene Koepke, professor in the Department of Management/Marketing; Jane Moorehouse, instructor for the Department of Health, Physical Education and Recreation; Rodney Oestreicher, custodian for Facilities; Dr. James Ossian, associate professor in the Department of Educational Administration; Suzanne Petersen, assistant director for the Counseling Center; Fi Ray, clerical assistant for Student Records; Ruth Schmitz, associate professor for the Department of Management/Marketing; Colleen Stevens, custodian for Facilities; and Bev Williams, staff secretary for the Department of Management/Marketing.

Those being recognized for their years of service, listed in descending order by years of service, include:

40 years of service- A. Steele Becker, Betty Bethell

35 years of service- Dr. David Amstutz, Lyle Colsden, Dr. Don Kaufman, Dr. Hal Nagel and Dr. James Roark.

30 years of service- Julia Agard, Dr. Paul Bishop, Dr. John Hertner, Dr. James Payne, and Dr. Ron Tuttle

25 years of service- Carol Best, Connie Fie, Mary Heater, Nikki Kriz, Kathy Livingston, Sharon Pelc, Dr. Glen Powell, Dr. Robert Price, Julie Saalfeld, Kim Schipporeit, Jeanne Schultz, Dr. Joseph Springer, Dr. Ed Walker and Lonna Weiss

20 years of service- Polly Amstutz, Karla Bauer, Dr. David Bauer, Karen Berryman, Ray Bickford, Lavonne Fries, Mike Geiger, Elaine Gokie, Dr. Kay Hodge, Blas Joe Mendoza, Julie Stall, Valerie Vierk, and Dr. Jane

15 years of service- Dr. Esmat Alavi-Behbahani, Dr. Joe Benz, Renee Besse, Dr. Herbert Craig, Dr. Brad Ericson, Duane Espenhover, Shelly Fleck, Gary Gibbons, Dr. Tommy Hansen, Barbara Harshbarger, Margaret Michener, Mitch O’Neill, Kurt Siedschlaw, Dan Simmons, Dr. Kathy Smith, Jacqueline Triplett,
Dr. Rebecca Umland and Judith Urbanski

10 years of service- Barbara Amundson, Paul Buresh, Andrea Childress, Jane Christensen, Dr. Valerie Cisler, Dr. Sandra Cook-Fong, Dr. Mark Ellis, Dr. Anne Foradori, Dr. Richard Hartung, Dr. Syed Hossain, Lynne Jackowiak, Jean Jacobson, Dr. Sonja Kropp, Rochelle Krueger, William Murphy, Dr. David Nabb, John Oseth and Jill Purdy.