Winners in the National History Day competition held at the University of Nebraska at Kearney March 23 will advance to state competition, set for Saturday, April 24, at Nebraska Wesleyan University in Lincoln.

Students from Stuart Public School, Loup County Public School, O’Neill Public School and McCook Junior High School took part in the regional competition. Judges for the day were Dr. Mary Ailes and Terry Ahlstedt, Senior Group Exhibit and Senior Group Performance; Dr. Paula Rieder and Jeremy Teel, Junior Group Exhibit; Dr. Pradeep Barua and Kendra Moore, Junior Individual Exhibit; Dr. Carol Lilly and Adam Hogue, Senior Individual Performance and Junior Group Performance; Dr. Vernon Volpe and John Lillis, Junior Group Documentary; and Dr. Roger Davis and Dr. Linda Van Ingen, Junior Individual Paper.

National History Day is a program that encourages students to go beyond the classroom and to travel back in time. While participating in National History Day students pick a topic of interest, conduct in-depth research and draw their own conclusions. Participants are able to work on an individual basis or as a group to develop an original historical presentation. Preparation for each competition enhances student skills in writing, interviewing and public speaking.

The Nebraska State History Day will take place on Saturday, April 24, at Nebraska Wesleyan University. Registration is due by Friday April 2. The historical paper submission deadline is Friday, April 9. For more information, individuals can call 402.465.2439 or 800.541.3818 ext. 2439 or email: Judging times before the state competition are available

National History Day is scheduled for June 13-17 at the University of Maryland, College Park. For information regarding this event, call 301.314.9739, or visit

Winners from the regional competition at UNK are:

Senior Group Exhibit
1st Kacie Olderding, Brad Myers (Stuart Public School)
2nd Myles Goos, Brent Lakin (Loup County Public School)
3rd Elizabeth Kaup, Kyle Timmerman, Wayne Shearer (Stuart Public School)

Junior Group Exhibit
Best Entry in Great Plains History Winner
Travis Lakin, Alex Petersen (Loup County Public School)

1st Traci Jensen, Jill Petersen (Loup County Public School)
2nd Lacey Johnson, Heidi Dilsaver (Loup County Public School)
3rd Benjamin Schilling, Ryan Hardin (McCook Junior High)

Junior Individual Exhibit
1st Amy Lester (McCook Junior High)
2nd Ethan DeBauche (McCook Junior High)
3rd Season Sinner (Loup County Public School)

Senior Group Performance
1st place and Best Entry in Women’s History 
Nichole Kraus, Autumn Sandoz (Loup County Public School)

Senior Individual Performance
1st Chavonn L. Davis (Loup County Public School)
2nd Best Entry in World History– Paul Birth (Loup County Public School)
3rd Rachel Taylor (Loup County Public School)

Junior Group Performance
1st Hannah Dilsaver, Shelby Koncel, Synde Ruge, Amber Sandoz, Stephanie Linden (Loup County Public School)
2nd Maggie Sanders, Tori Davis, Samantha McCarville (McCook Junior High)
3rd Cassie Olson, Hannah Putz (McCook Junior High)

Junior Group Documentary
1st Hannah Swanhorst, Abi Burrows (McCook Junior High)
2nd Audrie Krepcik, Brianna Watkins (McCook Junior High)

Junior Individual Paper
1st Renetta Rawlings (McCook Junior High)
2nd Michael Grabowski (McCook Junior High)
3rd Corinne Burger (McCook Junior High)