Kristin Howard
308.865.8126 OR

The Gold Torch Society, a mentoring organization for University of Nebraska at Kearney alumni and undergraduate women, today announced the names of 25 newly-selected student members for 2004.

Students are chosen for the yearlong program based on submission of an application and a 250-word essay on the importance of mentoring in their lives, according to Kristin Howard, UNK Gold Torch Society director.

“We have an outstanding group of young women this year, and we look forward to pairing them with alumni mentors for the annual meeting this fall,” she said.
Sponsored by the UNK Alumni Association, The Gold Torch Society gives alumni the opportunity to return to campus, and share a weekend of activities and special events with UNK undergraduates. This year’s meeting will be Sept. 17-18. Alumni are nominated for a three-year membership in the society.

“The society’s alumni members are successful women from a variety of backgrounds including education, politics, medicine, athletics, business and journalism,” Howard said. “The best aspect of the program is that alumni and students have the opportunity to network and establish one-on-one personal relationships. The alumni really care about students and their futures.”

The 25 new student members, listed alphabetically by hometown, include:

Atkinson- Jennifer Slaymaker
Bellevue- Sara Brown
Bloomfield- Karri Thunker
Brainard- Karynn Kucera
Broken Bow- Stephanie Weatherly
Columbus- Ruth Udey
Grand Island- SiAra Rasmussen
Hartington- Chrysantha Wiebelhaus
Kearney- Wendy Mattson
Laurel- Katie Dickey
Lincoln- Andrea Herndon
Lynch- Korena Holen
North Platte- Kristen Miller
Ogallala- Diane Iwan, Kacey Johnson
Omaha- Kathleen Parish, Micah Torgrimson, Christine Williamson
Ravenna- Cynthia Waskowiak
Red Cloud- Paige Wulf
Scottsbluff- Paige McFeely, Naomi Schemm
Valparaiso- Sheila Bouc

Kensington- Jennifer Bienhoff

Cheyenne- Rachel Yosten