Ann Tillery

The University of Nebraska at Kearney Department of Political Science will feature Dr. L. Dennis Smith, president of the University of Nebraska, as the 2003 George W. Norris Distinguished Lecturer. The Annual George Norris Scholarship Luncheon will take place on Oct. 3 at 12 noon in the Nebraskan Student Union room 238.

“The purpose of the Norris Scholarship Lecture is to heighten the awareness of George Norris as well as raise scholarship funds for the George Norris Scholarship,” said Peter Longo, political science department chair. The Norris Scholarship Luncheon is an opportunity for UNK and the Kearney area community to recognize an individual for their contribution to Nebraska as a public servant.

According to, Senator George Norris represented Nebraska in Congress for over 40 years. In the mid-1930s, Norris promoted the concept of a non-partisan, one-house legislature, the Unicameral, and led the effort to pass two federal programs, the Tennessee Valley Authority and the Rural Electrification Act.

Luncheon tickets are $15 and the public is invited to attend. Please call the Department of Political Science for tickets and reservations at (308) 865-8506.