Kristin Howard
308.865.8126 OR khoward@foundation.nebraska.edu

Through The Gold Torch Society, a group of alumni women are lending their guidance, encouragement and career experience to young women at the University of Nebraska at Kearney.

The group’s fourth annual meeting, set for Sept. 19-20, will feature sessions and round-table discussions covering topics including: balancing career and family, leadership, networking and taking the leap into the workforce after graduation. Alumni and students will have the opportunity to network and establish mentoring relationships.

Sponsored by the UNK Alumni Association, The Gold Torch Society provides alumni the opportunity to return to campus and share a weekend of activities and special events with a select group of UNK undergraduate women.

“The society’s alumni members are strong, successful women from a variety of backgrounds including education, politics, medicine, business and journalism,” said Jim Rundstrom, executive director of the UNK Alumni Association. “It is wonderful to see the relationships that have formed because of the Gold Torch Society.”

Alumni are nominated for a three-year membership in the society. Student membership is one year and is by application only.

Twenty-five UNK alumni are participating this year. Listed alphabetically by town, they are:

   Fort Calhoun– Tammy Morer-Urdahl, 1980
   Hastings– Betty Kort, 1964
   Kearney– Barb Friskopp, 1979; Lee Ann Olson, 1982; Karen Rhoads 1981
   Lincoln– Dawn Bartlett, 1995; Dr. Lisa Blankenau, 1982; Dianne Dempewolf
Brown, 1962; Shelly Kulhanek 1988; Suzanne Oldham 1971; Lori Pippitt, 1996; Doris Robertson, 1989; State Sen. DiAnna Rebman Schimek, 1963
   Omaha– Peggy Kelley, 1972; Kristine Tynan Gerber, 1988; Kael Welch Sagheer, 1990
   South Sioux City– Heidi Jo Blair-Esteves, 1995
   Syracuse– Terry Zimmers, 1972.


Our online specialists desire to look for instagram followers every time we have new pictures in our blog site

Burbank, CA – Judith Henggeler Spohr, 1963
Hermosa Beach, CA – Becky Fulmer, 1988
 Newton, IA– Erica Westbrook, 1996
West Des Moines, IA– Alicia Feldman, 1993
Fishers, IN – JoAn Scott, 1986
Shawnee Mission, KS – Brenda VanLengen, 1988
Franklin, TN – Dwann Holmes-Olsen, 1993

Twenty-five UNK undergraduate women were selected as members of the
society. Listed alphabetically by hometown, they are:

Ainsworth-Ashley Soles
Albion-Stacy Krohn
Alliance-Cassondra Darveau
Battle Creek– Leanne Martischang
Elkhorn– Stacy Oberembt
Fairbury– Andrea Steele
Grand Island– Katie Frost, Amanda Harvey, Amber Marshall, Becky Schneider
Greenwood– Amy Willadsen
Kearney– Kristi Cleaver
Lincoln– Jamie Buller, Christy Hinrichs, Joy Iromuanya
McCook– Erika Redfern
North Platte– Nickie Frye, Becky Hansen, Becky Rosenthal
Omaha– Beth Krelle
Papillion– Sarah Davis
Pierce– Jada Bilau
Shickley– Amanda Kamler
Tobias– Stacy Baxa

Boone, Iowa-Jodi Daigh