National History Honor Society Initiation to be held

Dr. Roger Davis
professor of history, 308.865.8771

The University of Nebraska at Kearney Department of History is pleased to announce the 2003 initiates of the Pi Nu Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta. The new members will be initiated during a ceremony on April 26.

Phi Alpha Theta, the National History Honor Society, was established in 1921 and has grown to over 800 active chapters. The Pi Nu Chapter was founded at UNK in 1970 and to date has 339 members and alumni. To qualify for membership an undergraduate student must have completed at least 12 hours of history courses with a 3.1 grade point average in those courses, and have at least a 3.0 average in two-thirds of all other course work.

This years initiates include: Ashley Crawford of Unadilla; Karen-Marie Quillin of Cozad; Lortta Wiltfang of WoodRiver; Jonathan Wysocki of Denver, CO; Dr. Linda Van Ingen, professor in the UNK department of history; and Dr. Larry Hardesty, 1970 graduate of the department of history and is currently the library director of Austin College in Sherman, TX.