Theta Kappa Chapter of Delta Tau Delta wins Hugh Shields Award

Cami Wacker
associate director of student development/retention, 308.865.8519

The Theta Kappa Chapter of Delta Tau Delta at the University of Nebraska at Kearney has been honored as one of the eleven Hugh Shields Chapters of Excellence by the International Fraternity for 2003. The chapter was awarded this honor at the Western Plains Division Leadership Conference held from February 27 – March 1 in Austin, Texas.

“Our chapter worked very hard and it is a great honor to receive this award. We beat out a lot of quality chapters in order to receive this honor,” Jesse Lee Cain of North Platte, chapter president, said.

The Hugh Shields Award for Chapter Excellence was officially established in 1965. It is named for the late Hugh Shields, the first executive vice president of the Fraternity.

The award’s criterion is designed to recognize overall excellence. The award is based on the chapter’s submission of an Annual Achievement Agreement, which measures excellence in internal operations, chapter finance, recruitment, alumni relations, community service and relations, membership education, and academics.