Beta Gamma Sigma adds 19 new members to UNK honor society

KEARNEY – The College of Business and Technology at the University of Nebraska at Kearney has inducted 19 student and honorary members into Beta Gamma Sigma.

Beta Gamma Sigma is the international honor society serving business programs accredited by AACSB International – the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.

Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma recognizes academic excellence in business studies and is the highest recognition a student can receive in a program accredited by AACSB International.

Beta Gamma Sigma has established more than 525 collegiate chapters worldwide, and has inducted more than 725,000 members.

The UNK chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma was established in 2006. Every year, the top 10 percent of junior and senior business majors and top 20 percent of MBA students are invited to join Beta Gamma Sigma.

Honorary inductees included UNK graduate and Mary Lanning Health Care Chief Operating Officer Mark Callahan, and Ngan Chau, marketing and management information systems assistant professor.

The inductees are listed below, alphabetically by hometown.
Aurora – Kristin Bell
Blair – Molly Sheehan
Gothenburg – Emily Franzen
Grand Island – Jared Buller
Kearney – Ryan Clark, Tianna Engen, Christina Synek
Lindsay – Anna Wegener
Madison – Joseph Tighe
Mullen – Adam Starr
Omaha – Kelsey Hassenstab, Halie Platt
Pierce – Rachel McGill
Sidney – Ashley Vowers
Bethesda, Md. – Phyllis Wilson
Goodland, Kan. – Reed Bellamy
Changchun, China – Peilin Zhang


Writer: Todd Gottula, Director of Communications, 308.865.8454,
Source: Marsha K. Yeagley, Marketing/MIS Department, 308-865-8345