Luke Grossnicklaus, Kylie Kenedy named Greek Man and Woman of Year

Luke Grossnicklaus of Aurora and Kylie Kenedy of Omaha are the University of Nebraska at Kearney’s Greek Man and Woman of the Year.
Luke Grossnicklaus of Aurora and Kylie Kenedy of Omaha are the University of Nebraska at Kearney’s Greek Man and Woman of the Year.

KEARNEY – Luke Grossnicklaus and Kylie Kenedy are the University of Nebraska at Kearney’s Greek Man and Woman of the Year.

Grossnicklaus represents Sigma Phi Epsilon and is a junior secondary business education major from Aurora. Kenedy represents Alpha Omicron Phi and is a junior exercise science major from Omaha. They were recognized at Thursday’s Greek Life Awards banquet.

Greek Man and Woman of the Year are chosen by faculty and staff judges after an application and interview process.

Grossnicklaus has served as president, vice president of communications, social chair and new member class president for Sig Ep. Outside of his chapter, he has served as Interfraternity Council president, IFC vice president of administration, IFC vice president of public relations, and GAMMA Treasurer.

“His passion for Greek life exudes daily through his kind and caring nature to always put others above himself and is a contributing factor of his success as a Greek leader,” Order of Omega’s Bailey Lehmkuhler said when presenting the award.

Kenedy has served as secretary of her chapter and as a member of the communications committee. She has been a recruitment counselor for Panhellenic Council and served as Panhellenic vice president of programming and social. She is currently Panhellenic Council president.

Luke Grossnicklaus
Luke Grossnicklaus
Kylie Kenedy
Kylie Kenedy

“This woman has shown tremendous passion and dedication, not only to her sorority, but to the entire community as a whole,” Lehmkuhler said. “Her charisma, drive and ability to motivate others to strive for greatness is bar none.”

Alpha Omicron Pi was named chapter of the year and Sigma Tau Gamma’s Alex Hart of Lynch was named chapter president of the year. Alex Straatmann of Kearney, representing Sigma Phi Epsilon, was named adviser of the year.

UNK fraternities and sororities logged more than 21,000 hours of community service and raised more than $85,000 in philanthropy projects in 2016-17.

Fraternity and Sorority Life Awards
Living the Ritual –
Asic Helberg, Phi Delta Theta, McCook
Outstanding Fraternity New Member – Gabe Crocker, Sigma Phi Epsilon, Kearney
Outstanding Sorority New Member – Gabriela Lopez, Lambda Theta Nu, Crete
Outstanding Collaborative Program – Skills for Success, Alpha Phi and Sigma Phi Epsilon
Outstanding Recruitment/Intake and Retention – Sigma Phi Epsilon
Adviser of the Year – Alex Straatmann, Sigma Phi Epsilon, Kearney
Council Member of the Year – Kylie Kenedy, Omaha
Chapter President of the Year – Alex Hart, Sigma Tau Gamma, Lynch
Chapter of the Year – Alpha Omicron Pi

Order of Omega Awards
Outstanding Chapter Improvement –
Gamma Phi Beta
Outstanding Community Service Program – Lambda Theta Nu, Lambda Youth Leadership Conference
Outstanding New Member Education Program – Alpha Phi
Outstanding Alumni Relations – Sigma Phi Epsilon
Outstanding Innovation – Alpha Phi
Outstanding Interfraternal / Greek Relations – Alpha Omicron Pi
Outstanding Contributions to UNK – Alpha Omicron Pi
Outstanding Alumni of the Year – Grant Campbell, Sigma Phi Epsilon, Fort Collins, Colo.
Outstanding Faculty Relations – Sigma Phi Epsilon
Faculty Member of the Year – Tami Moore, Professor and Chair for the Department of Family Studies

Newly selected Order of Omega Members
Aurora – Kristin Bell, Alpha Phi; Logan Krejdl, Pi Kappa Alpha
Bennington – Keegan Mcgill, Phi Gamma Delta
Bridgeport – Taylor Janicek, Phi Delta Theta
Central City – Katherine Benner, Alpha Omicron Pi; Jonah Peterson, Sigma Phi Epsilon
Clay Center – Rachel Shackelford, Alpha Xi Delta
Grand Island – Octavio DeSantiago, Phi Delta Theta
Hastings – Kathleen Bartunek, Alpha Phi
Kearney – Samantha Baumert, Alpha Phi; Collin Bond, Sigma Phi Epsilon; Lainey Russell, Alpha Phi
Lincoln – Tyler Nelsen, Phi Delta Theta; Ashley Pietenpol, Gamma Phi Beta
McCook – Caitlyn Leitner, Alpha Omicron Pi
Minden – Nathan Hunzeker, Phi Gamma Delta
Papillion – Breanna Carter, Alpha Xi Delta
Phillips – McClain Narber, Alpha Phi
Pickrell – Elizabeth Tjeerdsma, Alpha Phi
Shelby – Tiffany Vavricek, Alpha Xi Delta
Springfield – Molly Kohlbek, Alpha Xi Delta
Wahoo – Kristen Tomjack, Alpha Phi


Source: Heather Wolf, 308.865.8057,
Writer: Todd Gottula, Director of Communications, 308.865.8454,