Dr. Seth Fletcher
Department of Music and Performing Arts lecturer, 308.865.8632

Trombones, tubas and euphoniums will be featured in the Low Brass Chamber Recital on Sunday, March 4, at the University of Nebraska at Kearney.

The concert, which will be directed by Dr. Seth Fletcher, UNK senior lecturer in music, will begin at 3 p.m. in the UNK Fine Arts Recital Hall. The event is free and open to the public.

“We perform a ‘chamber music recital’ every semester as playing chamber music, music for small groups originally intended for the ‘chambers’ of one’s home and not the concert hall, is a different type of musical and learning experience than playing solo or in a large ensemble,” Dr. Fletcher said.

“Students select the music on their own, for the most part, with suggestions and guidance from me,” Dr. Fletcher said.

Pieces played in the concert will include, “Scarborough Fair,” “Loch Lomond” and “Pumpkin Eggs,” among others.

Patience Buck of Grand Island, Jon Huzeker of Minden, Vergil Nelson of Kearney, all on trombone, and Eric Rempe of Grand Island, bass trombone, will play “Blue Skies” by Irving Berlin.

Zach Margheim, trombone, and Brock Persson, tuba, both of Kearney will perform “Suite for Tuba and Euphonium” by Lee Aronson.

Michael Crawford of Broken Bow and Lee Rushing of Kearney, both on the tuba, will perform “Duet in C” by Ignaz Pleyel.

Mark Messner of Ogallala, tuba, Vergil Nelson of Kearney, euphonium, Eric Rempe of Grand Island, euphonium, and Lee Rushing of Kearney, tuba, will perform “BASSic Games,” which Rushing arranged for this performance.

Blake Lyon of Ravenna, euphonium, and Paula Newhouse of Kearney, tuba, will perform “It’s the Sausage.”

Members of the UNK Low Brass Chamber are listed below, alphabetically by hometown.

Broken Bow –
Michael Crawford, tuba
Crofton –
Thomas Augustin, tuba
– Alec Rowe, trombone
Grand Island –
Patience Buck, trombone; Eric Rempe, euphonium
Kearney –
Zachary Margheim, trombone; Vergil Nelson, euphonium; Paula Newhouse, tuba; Brock Persson, tuba; Lee Rushing, tuba
Minden –
Jonathan Hunzeker, trombone
Ogallala –
Mark Messner, tuba
Ravenna –
Blake Lyon, euphonium



Kawachinagano-shi –
Iikumitsu Tanaka, trombone