Cheryl Bressington
Human Resources director, 308.865.8388

More than 100 University of Nebraska at Kearney faculty and staff will be honored during the Celebrating Excellence Retirement and Service Awards luncheon and recognition on Tuesday, April 19, on the campus.

Fifteen UNK retirees will recognized during the luncheon, which will begin at 12:30 p.m. in the UNK Nebraskan Student Union Ponderosa Room. The retirees include: Dr. John Anderson, political science; Susan Frerichs, Police and Parking Services; Dr. Larry Kuskie, industrial technology; Dr. Marlene Kuskie, counseling and school psychology; Dr. Lil Larson, communications; Mary Ann Lawson, business and technology; Mary Lyons, facilities; Dr. Craig Marxsen, economics; Dr. Richard Meznarich, industrial technology; Bonnie Mumm, business and finance; Michael Nelson, facilities; Donna Posusta, Human Resources; Dr. Glen Powell, teacher education; Robert Young, accounting and finance; and Dr. Gail Zeller, Residential and Greek Life.

Retirees unable to attend the luncheon include: Dr. Lucille Freeman Gregory, teacher education; Carol Hudson, teacher education; Dick Hunt, Residential and Greek Life; John Oseth, Chancellor’s Office; Sue Schuyler, modern languages; Stephen Slominski, mail room; Donna Walker, Nebraskan Student Union; and Frederick Will, facilities.

Recognition for years of service is scheduled to begin at 2 p.m. Those being recognized are listed below, in descending order, according to their years of service:

40 Years of Service – Carleen Jurgensen – health, physical education, recreation and leisure studies (HPERLS).

35 Years of Service – Randy Bradshaw, facilities; Linda Clark, Human ResourcesDick Collins, Athletics; and Dr. Linda Spessard-Schueth, biology.

30 Years of Service – 
Helen Burkey, librarySteven Clevenger, facilitiesKathleen English, HPERLSMarilyn Karash – Information Technology ServicesAlta Kramer, libraryGloria Mason, Information Technology ServicesMichael Nelson, facilities; and Marsha Yeagley, marketing and MIS.

25 Years of Service – 
Dr. Suzanne Bloomfield, English; Dr. Karl Borden, accounting and finance; Dr. James Cook, music; Dr. Roger Davis, history; Dr. Lucille Freeman Gregory, teacher education; Keith Halliwell, facilities; Robin Harding, facilities; Dr. Akbar Javidi,  communication; Linda Johnson, graduate studies and research; Dr. Daryl Kelley, sociology; Dr. Vani Kotcherlakota, economics; Dr. Thomas Martin, philosophy; Dr. Max McFarland, counseling and school psychology; Dr. David Moffett, marketing and MIS; Peggy Nyffeler, health care; Dr. Elizabeth Peck, English; and Donald Ray, Information Technology Services.

20 Years of Service – 
Dr. Sylvia Asay, family studies; Larry Carstenson, accounting and finance; Mary Frew, KASE; Shelley Haberlan, COE/CIT; Carol Hudson, teacher education; Dr. Thomas Jacobson, educational administration; Brenda Jochum, industrial technology; Patricia Johnson, business and finance; June Kenton, facilities; Dr. Kennard Larson, industrial technology; Mary Ann Lawson, business and technology; Kristi Milks, Academic Affairs; Mark Panowicz, facilities; Cyndi Schroeder, student records; Dr. Laurie Swinney, accounting and finance; Gloria Vavricka, eCampus; Richard Warnke, Business Services; and Dr. Maha Younes, social work.

15 Years of Service – 
Margaret “Peggy” Abels, health scienceDr. Marc Albrecht, biologyDr. Pradeep Barua, history;Dr. Charles Bicak, Academic Affairs; Carmen Brewer, graduate studiesAudry Caldwell, libraryDr. Christopher Exstrom, chemistryDr. Suzanne Exstrom, social workDr. Anita Hart, modern languagesDr. Mark Markes, physicsTim McMullen, Student AffairsFauneil Meier,  international educationDr. Tami Moore, family studiesMarta Moorman, HPERLSTeresa Osmanski, AthleticsDr. Dennis Potthoff, teacher educationElizabeth Reid, Student Support ServicesMichelle Smidt, AthleticsNadine Stuehm. social workDr. Kenya Taylor, graduate studies; and Dr. Diane Wysocki, sociology.

10 Years of Service – 
Dr. Vijay Agrawal, marketing & MIS; Marshall Barth, Nebraska Safety Center; Nancy Bennett, facilities; Nancy Brehm, facilities; Dr. Timothy Burkink, business and technology; Dr. Kerri Farnsworth Hoback, biology; Dr. Beverly Frickel, accounting and finance; Janice Fronczak, theatre; Dr. Steven Hall, accounting and finance; Amy Hammond, student records; Steve Hansen, fine arts; Dr. John Hastings, CSISPatricia Heaton, facilities; Dr. Catherine “Kate” Heelan, HPERLS; Dr. Carla Kegley-Owen, chemistry; Neva Klemme, Chancellor’s Office; Theodore “Ted” Larsen, family studies; Dr. Claude Louishomme, political science; Christy Madsen,  Child Development Center; Dr. Suzanne Maughan, sociology; Dr. Donna Montgomery, teacher educationDr. Kenneth Nelson, educational administration; Debra Nourse, marketing & MIS; Ann Marie Park, international education; Mary Ann Rittenhouse, economics; Cathy Tourney, family studies; Gloria Travis, Human Resources; Dr. Linda Van Ingen, history; Sharon Waller, facilities; Dr. Beth Wiersma, criminal justice; and Cindy Zimbelman, Nebraskan Student Union.