Nebraskats to Perform in Colorado and Western Nebraska Nov. 21-24

Dr. Andrew White
Nebraskats director, 308.865.8610

The Nebraskats, the University of Nebraska at Kearney show choir, will perform Broadway show tunes and popular radio hits on a four-day concert tour throughout Colorado and Nebraska, beginning Sunday, Nov. 21.

On Monday, Nov. 22, the Nebraskats will perform two shows–one at 10 a.m. and a second one 7 p.m.– at Burlington High School in Burlington, Colo. The morning performance is for BHS high school students. Admission to the evening performance is $10 for adults and $5 for children.

The show choir will perform for children at the Denver Children’s Hospital on Tuesday, Nov. 24, and will conclude the tour with a 1 p.m. performance that same day at the Arapahoe (Nebraska) High School.

The Nebraskats will perform popular radio hits such as “Love Song” and “I’m Yours,” as well as selections from the Broadway musical turned movie, “Hairspray.” The “Hairspray” numbers were choreographed by freelance professional choreographer Elizabeth White, who also choreographed the Lincoln Community Playhouse rendition of “Hairspray.”

“The show has musical styles from the late 50’s and 60’s, so it is a different style than the rest of what we are doing,” said Dr. Andrew White, Nebraskats director. Music from several contemporary theater productions will also be performed.

On Wednesday, Dec. 1, the Nebraskats will perform a winter home concert, beginning at 7:30 p.m., in the UNK Fine Arts Recital Hall.

Membership in the Nebraskats is competitive. Auditions take place at the end of the spring semester each year. In the audition, students must dance and sing a solo, as well as sing with a quartet.

Members of the Nebraskats, and the Nebraskats band, are listed below, alphabetically by hometown, with the vocalists listed first:


Alma – Heidi Kauk 
Auburn – 
Hannah Om 
Burwell – 
Dillion Nelson 
Grand Island – 
Shaylie MurphySidney CliftonPhillip Zuehlke 
Juniata – 
Addison Heeren 
Kearney – 
Warren Gilles 
Lincoln – 
Nate Rocke 
Omaha – 
Elizabeth Lieberman 
O’Neill – 
Jordan Peterson 
Ord – 
Taylor Fahey

Out of State

Burlington –
 Cody Milford

Cedar Rapids –
 Jami Scott

Southfield – 
Anthony Ford


Grand Island – 
Gustavo Rodriguez 
Kearney – 
Tyler Allen 
Lexington – 
Joel Montez

Out of State

Southfield – Anthony Ford

New York 
New York – Martin Diaz del Castillo

China – 
Dan YuTingyu Ruan