UNK ‘Pride of the Plains’ Marching Band Opened Season Saturday

Dr. Neal Schnoor
UNK director of Bands, 308.865.88631

UNK– Pride of the Plains, the University of Nebraska at Kearney marching band, made its 2009 debut Saturday, Sept. 5, with pre-game and half-time performances.

Pride of the Plains marching band is a 90-piece ensemble, consisting both of music and non-music majors. The band routinely appears on the annual Nebraska Music Educators Association (NMEA) Conference/Clinic program.

During a visit with the 23-member group at a recent rehearsal, UNK Chancellor Doug Kristensen told marching band members: “We are so lucky to have you as students. You are a part of one of the best organizations on campus, and you represent the university well.”

“You have a big fan in the Chancellor,” said Dr. Neal Schnoor, UNK director of bands. “It’s a real honor for him to come out to practice.”

This year, the band’s first half-time show features music from Leonard Bernstein’s “West Side Story.” Pride of the Plains will present several different half-time shows in addition to a pre-game show at each home game during the football season.

“The band is pleased to have the opportunity to march, and perform for students and parents in addition to our traditional audience of community members, band parents, family, friends and UNK athletic teams,” Dr. Schnoor said.

Members of the 2009 UNK Pride of the Plains marching band are listed below, alphabetically by hometown:

Amherst– Jonathan Beaver and Chris Gugel.
Archer– Amy Neel
Ashland– Kimberly Morwitzer
Aurora– Ashley Lawton and Nichole Merten.
Axtell– D.J. Brandt
Beatrice– Troy Ehmke
Bellevue– Kara Dacey and Heather Wilkie.
Berwyn– Jessica McCullough
Blair– Jared Biffar, Helen Breuer and Allison Mussack.
Chappell– Marshall Everitt
Clarkson– Rachel Toman
Columbus– Derek Sharman and Shayla Werner.
Comstock– Robert Roth
Cozad– Andee Bubak
David City– Megan Buresh
Dickens– Brooke Harris
Doniphan– Kallie McDermott
Elm Creek– Ilicza Ripp
Farwell– Jennifer Rathman
Fremont– Joshua Steager
Genoa– Blaine Drozd
Gering– David Kelley and Brian Peister.
Gibbon– Amy Smallcomb
Grand Island– Michelle Bergholz, Becky Berven, Stephen Carlson, Alicia Griesman, James Kenyon, Ryne Miller, Eric Rempe, Katelyn Rempe, Gustavo Rodriguez-Barrera and Lauren Stewart.
Hastings– Kathleen Albers and Brittney Kramer.
Holdrege– Blake Dunaway and Eric Jones.
Hordville– Trevor Schnabel
Juniata– Abbie Schuyler
Kearney– Tyler Allen, Abby Bittman, Mackenzie Cochran, Michael Conley, Anthony Ford, Jason Gfeller, Spencer Hinrichs, Stacy Laue, Emily Mcintosh, Paloma Mena-Werth, Jessica Merten, Mari Nakamura, Jody Neel, Jennifer Nelsen, Kyla Nelsen, Paul Niedbalski, David O’Neill, Asami Otsuka, Brock Persson, Sonya Push, Jordan Skyler, Nathan Thorn, Heather Walker, Adam White, James Wolf and Dakota Zimniak.
Lexington– Dayvid Cardenas, Francisco Carrera, Joel Montes and Nathan Richardson.
Lincoln– Michelle Allen, Leah Bartek, Katy Flentie and Megan Gengenbach.
McCook– Tyler Cobb and Casey Cobb, Tyler Cobb, Julie Gates and Lewis Tapia.
Minden– Wil Gleason
Newport– Cameron Scheibe
North Platte– Jordan Blackledge, Beth Deardoff and Carey Teters.
Ogallala– Daniel Anderson and Mark Messner.
Omaha– Kelci Fulton, Andrew Jacobitz, Cayle Jones, Jordan Love, Megan Miller, Paula Newhouse and Katie Trygg.
O’Neill– Ryan Lieb
Osmond– Clint Dennis
Phillips– David Ziola
Pierce– Kathy Venteicher
Plattsmouth– Marissa Charles
Prague– Jessica Sousek
Riverdale– Jacinda Uden
St. Paul– Justin Buchanan
Scottsbluff– Brooke Brown, Zachary Durbin, Amy Krichau and Justin Vogel.
Seward– Joshua Moravec
Waco– Elle Bruns
Wahoo– Matt Braunsroth
Wallace– Philip Lempke
West Point– Laura Buse and Stephanie Luebbert.
Wood River– Abbie Davis and Jeremy Uhrich.


        Red Oak– Aaron Bochmann
        Union– Stacia Kluever

        Hoxie– Kylie Lewis

        Springfield– Nikki Kadin