Alpha Omicron Pi Social Sorority at UNK Receives Three Chapter Awards at Annual International Convention

Chelsea Archer
Alpha Omicron Pi vice president of communications, 402.520.2488

UNK– University of Nebraska at Kearney social sorority Alpha Omicron Pi received three international chapter awards at the 2009 Alpha Omicron Pi International Convention held in Tampa, Fla.

The UNK chapter was one of only 27 chapters who received a Ruby Award for Distinguished Chapters. There are 105 active Alpha Omicron Pi chapters.

The Ruby Award for Distinguished Chapters is awarded to chapters who have accomplished at least 90 percent of the Standards of Excellence (SOE). SOE are points of measurement for progress in a variety of areas such as philanthropy, recruitment and academics. Officers of the Leader’s Council (LC) are responsible for documenting SOE within their office on an annual basis.

“The Ruby Award is such a big achievement,” said Katie Grant, Phi Sigma chapter president. “The LC members set a goal for this award, and I’m proud of them and all the ladies within the house. It took everyone’s hard work to reach this goal.”
The chapter also took home an Academic Development Cup, which is awarded to chapters with outstanding leadership, scholarship and scholarship programming for the biennium. To be eligible, the chapter must achieve a grade point average (GPA) of 3.14 or higher on a 4.0 scale for at least one semester of the biennium.

In addition, the chapter received participation recognition for the annual philanthropy event, “Strike Out Arthritis.” The event is an annual dodgeball tournament held by the UNK chapter that raises funds for arthritis research. This spring, the UNK chapter raised more than $1,700 for the Arthritis Foundation, which awards research grants and scholarships to families with children who have juvenile arthritis.

Alpha Omicron Pi Leader’s Council officers are listed alphabetically by hometown:

Beatrice– Chelsea Archer, vice president of communications
Cambridge– Brittany Brown, vice president of education
Carroll– Michaela Staub, assistant alumnae relations
Crete– Katie Hollman, vice president of administration
Kearney– Heather Paige, intramurals; Joy Wilson, assistant ritual; Katie Grant, president; and Mackenzie Bohl, treasurer.
Lincoln– Meagan Smejdir, ritual
McCook– Sam Post, alumnae relations
North Platte– Whitney Effenbeck, recording secretary
Omaha– Heather McLain, house manager, and Julie Wawers, vice president of philanthropy.
Papillion– Jordan Higgins, assistant social
Plymouth– Michelle Hermesch, vice president of chapter development
Seward– Teresa Cousins, vice president of standards
Schuyler– Jayme Houdek, assistant philanthropy
Sutherland– Amiee Adams, social chair
West Point– Mikayla Brune, vice president of academic development
Wood River– Jammie Rodriguez, Panhellenic delegate
Wynot– Brittany Weindant, corresponding secretary

                        Denver- Abby Claar, assistant vice president of standards
                        Windsor-Michelle Hermesch, vice president of chapter development
                        Herndon– Kendra Solko, new member educator