Chancellors Ambassadors Selected for 2007-2008

Glennis Nagel

When campus events bring dignitaries to the campus, the students who most often are there helping host the event are the Chancellor’s Ambassadors.

The Ambassadors, a select group of students who are chosen each spring to serve for the coming academic year, go through a rigorous application and interview process to become a member of the group. Once selected, the students take part in a specialized orientation program that includes training in etiquette, campus history and other topics.
Sixteen students have been chosen to serve as Ambassadors for the coming academic year. The 16, who were selected from among a group of 44 applicants, were chosen based on their involvement in campus activities, academic achievement, leadership ability, knowledge of UNK and communication skills. They not only help host campus functions, but also serve as campus tour guides for visitors such as foreign diplomats, celebrities, alumni and government officials.

Of the 16 who have been selected as Chancellor’s Ambassadors for the 2007-2008 school year, five served this past year. Among the five is Brock Steinbrink of Kearney, who will serve as the Ambassadors’ coordinator. Brock is majoring in finance and economics.

Also returning are Travis Checketts of Eagle, an organizational communications major; Monica Mueller of Holdrege, a communication disorders major; Brooke McGee of Kearney, a political science major; and Amber Nabity of Lincoln, a math/history secondary education major. The new Ambassadors, listed alphabetically by hometown, along with their majors, include: Joshua Hanshaw of Beatrice, organizational communications; Kristina Scott of Belgrade, family studies; Joseph Anderson of Bellevue, social science comprehensive with a history emphasis; Brandon Bohn of Gibbon, pre-pharmacy; Lea Schneider of Grand Island, exercise science; Caitlin Babbitt of Kearney, communication disorders; Ashley Stillwell of North Platte, psychobiology and pre-med; Cristobal Salinas Jr. of Schuyler, Spanish education; Matthew Urkoski of Tecumseh, political science; Angela Reynolds of Wood River, management; and Surabhi Bhattarai of Nepal, accounting and MIS.

Faculty and staff who served on the selection committee include: Curt Carlson, University Relations; Dr. Sandy Cook-Fong, social work; Dr. Ron Crocker, music; Lucas Dart, foundation; Terri Harder, Office of the Chancellor; Roger Jones, emeriti; Darla Morris, Nebraska Safety Center; Sharon Pelc, Nebraskan Student Union; James Paul, Chartwells; Dr. Kathy Smith, accounting/finance; and Karen Atteberry, University Relations.