Leadership UNK 2008-2009 Graduates Announced

Dee Ellingson
Department of Psychology, 308.865.8235

UNK– The 2008-2009 Leadership UNK program had 10 participants graduate today at the University of Nebraska at Kearney.

Among the graduates were Peggy Abels, Health Science Programs; Scot Fransk, Intramurals; Wilma Heinowski, Police and Parking Services; Deborah Huryta, Dual Career Program; Lisa Neal, Institutional Research; Michael Pelster, Office of Admissions; Jane Petersen, Information Technology Services; Burce Uden, Facilities Managements and Planning; and Joni Weed, Career Services.

The participants were selected for membership in the one-year program based on an application process. Once accepted, participants attended 10 monthly sessions –nine half-day and one full-day. The program runs August through May. This is the second year for the program on the UNK campus.
Participants attended sessions where they were informed on the various aspects of leadership at UNK and developed a greater awareness of opportunities on the campus, as well as a higher comfort level when interacting with those in administrative roles.

Membership in the program is limited to UNK staff members. Applications for the Leadership UNK 2009-2010 program are currently being accepted. The deadline is Friday, May 29.