Student Alumni Foundation Recognizes Outstanding Senior Award Recipients at Mortar Board Honors Convocation

Michelle Widger
UNK Alumni Association, 308.865.8474

UNK – Five University of Nebraska students have been chosen as recipients of the Student Alumni Foundation Outstanding Senior Award.

The Outstanding Senior Award recognizes seniors for excellence in scholarship and leadership, as well as involvement and dedication to UNK and the Kearney community. The Student Alumni Foundation has been making these awards since the group was founded in 1981.

The recipients will be honored at the UNK Mortar Board Honors Convocation in April.

Recipients are:

Stacey Bonner is a biology major from Madison. She is a graduate of Battle Creek High School. She has served on Loper Program Activities Council, Randall Hall council and executive board, and was a member of the UNK Choraleers. She was vice president and recruitment chair for Delta Omicron music service fraternity and was a member of Alpha Phi Omega service fraternity. Stacey also was a Good Samaritan Hospital and Richard Young Center, Hugs Program volunteer.

Claire Bryan is a special education major from Katy, Texas. Claire was 2008 Homecoming Queen. She has been a Chancellor’s Ambassador, president of Gamma Phi Beta social sorority, parliamentarian for student government and a member of Order of Omega. She was recruitment counselor for Panhellenic Council. She also was a member of the UNK women’s tennis team and a member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.

Michael Eiberger is a vocational business education and industrial education major from St. Paul.  Michael served as student body president and student regent for the University of Nebraska Board of Regents. He also was president of Phi Beta Lambda at UNK and was vice president of the Nebraska organization. Michael served as a diplomat for the Office of Admissions, a resident advisor for the Office of Residential and Greek Life and was a member of the summer advising and enrollment team that assisted incoming freshman in academic advising and making the transition to college. He was National Residence Hall Honorary vice president, a Chancellor’s Ambassador, Student Court Justice for Student Government and a member of Rho Alpha Sigma and Epsilon Pi Tau honoraries. Michael also was president of Resident Advisor Council. He was Homecoming King in 2005.

Kendra Francke is a business administration major from Waverly or Lincoln. Kendra was a member of Alpha Omicron Pi sorority and served as president of Panhellenic Council. She also was a Chancellor’s Ambassador and a diplomat for the Office of Admissions. She also served on the Summer Advising and Enrollment team. She also served as an intern with the Buffalo County Economic Development Council.

Charles Whitten is a chemistry major from Smithfield. He has been a member of the Health Science Club and the Chemistry Club. He was a member of the Honor’s Program and treasurer of the Chancellor’s Leadership Class. Charles is a senator representing the College of Natural and Social Sciences. He also was a member a member Pi Kappa Alpha fraternity and served in a number of leadership positions. In the chemistry department, he was a tutor and a teacher’s assistant.