Curt Carlson,
vice chancellor for University Relations, 308.865.8529;

Renee Ballenger,
director of Media Relations and Internal Communications, 308.865.8136

Glennis Nagel,
associate director of Media Relations and Internal Communications, 308.865.8454

The College of Natural and Social Sciences at the University of Nebraska at Kearney today announced the selection of College Fellows for the 2008-2009 academic school year.
College Fellows are students nominated by departments on the basis of their scholastic achievement, as well as their talent for, and interest in, becoming a college or university professor.
Dr. Robert Rycek, dean of the College of Natural and Social sciences, said, “Selections are made by each department in a method chosen by the department. For example, in psychology, we review the list of all the juniors and decide based on a department vote who we may ask. We then verify that the student is planning an academic career and offer them the position.
“During the academic year, College Fellows become a junior member of the department, learning first-hand about the work of a college professor,” he said. Fellows may serve on departmental committees, help plan and conduct department events, or assist professors with research and course preparation.
Dr. Rycek added that, “In psychology, the College Fellow is invited to attend departmental meetings. If there is a faculty search, they are invited to be on the committee. This last year our College Fellow was a member of the academic program review team for the department. We provide the College Fellow with some office space, and they have special library privileges.”
“College Fellows are not assigned to a particular faculty member,” he said. “It is a departmental position. However, most times the College Fellow is or has been a very active student within the department and is most likely involved in research with one or more faculty members.”
The 2008-2009 College Fellows, and the departments they will work with this coming year, are listed alphabetically by hometown:
Fullerton – Kalie Wetovick, Department of History
Hickman – Aaron Steele, Department of Computer Science & Information Systems
Kearney – Amanda Calleroz, Department of Biology; Carl Corder, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, and
Matthew Morehouse, Department of Political Science.
McCook – Kimberly Serbousek, Department of Biology