‘The Reynolds Trio–Past And Present’ Read Their Works Wednesday, Dec. 12, As Part Of The Reynolds Series At UNK

Alison Hedge Coke
Reynolds Endowed Chair, 308.865.8672

UNK- “The Reynolds Trio–Past and Present” will read from their works in a special presentation set for 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 12, in the University of Nebraska at Kearney Miriam Drake Theatre.

            The three award-winning poets –Dr. Don Welch, Charles Fort and Allison Hedge Coke– will be the featured presenters. Dr. Welch and Fort are former holders of the Reynolds Chair in Poetry. Hedge Coke currently holds the distinguished endowed chair.  
           According to Dr. Martha Kruse, chair of the UNK Department of English, the Reynolds Chair is a five-year, renewable position with a maximum tenure of 10 years. Hedge Coke is the current Reynolds Endowed Chair. Dr. Welch held the position from 1987-1997, and Fort, from 1997-2007.
           The evening presentations, which are free and open to the public, will include readings of new and current works from all three authors, a reception and a book signing.  
           The Reynolds Series is sponsored by the Department of English and brings fine literary arts events to UNK, Kearney and Central Nebraska. According to Hedge Coke, there are numerous benefits to offering a program such as the Reynolds series.
           “The impact of a live presenter, reading from her or his own work, is immediate and tremendous. Students, staff, faculty, and general community members have the outright advantage of up close and personal communication with live genius,” Hedge Coke said.
           Dr. Welch is the original Reynolds Chair. A Nebraska native and UNK emeritus professor of English, Dr. Welch’s books include: “Deadhorse Table,” “Handwork,” “The Rarer Game,” “The Keeper of Miniature Deer,” “The Marginalist,” “Every Mouth of Autumn Says Good-bye,” “The Breeder of Archangels/Requiem for Stanley Smith,” “Inklings: Poems Old and New,” “The Alley Poems” and “Gutter Flowers.” He received the Pablo Neruda Prize for Poetry in 1980.
           Fort is a professor in the Department of English. His books include: “Town Clock Burning,” “Darvil,” “We Did Not Fear the Father,” “As the Lilac Burned the Laurel Grew,” “Immortelles,” “The Vagrant Hours,” “Afro Psalms: A Sonnet Redoublé” and “Frankenstein Was a Negro.” “The Town Clock Burning” is a Carnegie Mellon Press Contemporary Classic. Fort’s poetry was included in “The Best American Poetry” in 2000 and 2003. He has also received a Randall Jarrell Poetry Prize, an Open Voice Poetry Award, a Mary Carolyn Davies Memorial Award and awards from the Poetry Society of America. Fort’s next two books will be “We Did Not Fear The Father: New and Selected Poems” and “Mrs. Belladonna’s Supper Club Waltz.”
           Hedge Coke is an American Book Award (1998) winning author with international acclaim. Hedge Coke has published four books of poetry, a memoir and has edited six anthologies. Her books include: “Dog Road Woman,” “Off-Season City Pipe,” “Blood Run,” “The Year of the Rat,” “Rock, Ghost, Willow, Deer,” “Ahani: Indigenous American Poetry,” “Coming to Life,” “They Wanted Children,” “Voices of Thunder,” “It’s Not Quiet Anymore” and “Effigies.” She is a Black Earth Institute Think Tank Fellow and a recent United Nations presenting speaker.