UNK Marching Band to Ring in the New Year Marching and Performing in Italy

Dr. Gary Davis
UNK Symphonic Band director, 308.865.8497

The members of the University of Nebraska at Kearney Pride of the Plains marching band will ring in the New Year in Italy.

The UNK band is scheduled to take a seven-day tour of Italy, performing in Florence, Montecatini and Rome. The marching band will also join bands from all over Europe to participate in Rome’s New Year’s Parade. The parade will begin at Castel Sant’ Angelo and conclude at St. Peter’s Square. The parade music will consist of the Italian National Anthem, the Star Spangled Banner and Beethoven’s Ode to Joy.

While in Italy, students will tour the Coliseum, the Pantheon, St. Peter’s Basilica, the Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel.

The UNK marching band will sound different than European bands because of the drumline. Although an integral part of American marching bands, the drumline is fairly unique to America, and “the sound will be different from what you will hear over there a lot,” said Dr. Neal Schnoor, UNK assistant director of bands.

In addition to the parade, selected members of the band will also perform in smaller ensembles, including the brass quintet and brass choir. In addition, UNK will be represented by several duets and an oboe solo by Lindsay Roper (Elwood ). According to Dr. Schnoor, there could be up to 20 – 30 groups.

“Because UNK has so many music majors, they can perform great music in addition to marching band,” Dr. Schnoor said.

More than 50 percent of the UNK band is made up of non-music majors. The university band members represent 20 departments, all four colleges and the UNMC nursing program.

“These are kids who want to be in band,” said Dr. Schnoor.
Members of the UNK marching band, listed alphabetically by town, include:

Ainsworth – Brindi Utemark
Archer – Jody Neel
Atkinson – Rebecca Osborne
Axtell – Heather Colling
Ayr – Derek Gangwish
Beatrice – Mark Nelson
Beaver City – Bridgette Robinson
Belgrade – Kristina Scott
Bellevue – Adam Hotchkiss and Corrina Wright
Blue Hill – Danielle Mohlman
Broken Bow – Michael Crawford
Chadron – Jonathan Dailey
Clarkson – Rita Vogel
Columbus – Lindsay Starostka
David City – Chris Hein
Elm Creek – Megan Brestel
Elwood – Lindsay Roper
Franklin – Savannah Murphy
Fullerton – Kalie Wetovick
Gibbon – Brandon Bohn
Gothenburg – Katie Moore
Grand Island – Thomas Carlson, Mackenzie Cochran, Abigail Countryman, Adam              Eschliman and Ray Zeleski
Gretna – Bethany Chandler
Henderson – Mark Hiebner
Hershey – Amber Garza
Hickman – Jessica Niemeyer
Holdrege – Celeste Lempke and Jennifer Nelsen
Kearney –  Lynn Beistline, Abby Bittman, Sarah Giffin, John Harrold, Ashley Hellerich,          Katherine Hermann, Stacy Laue, Tina Lund, Matthew Manning, Joshua Palmer,          Lance Rall, Amber Rieken, Brent Roemmich and Eryn McBride
Lexington – Courtney Klamm and Kelli Margritz
Lincoln – Jessica Adcox, Jessica Duryea, Jason Gfeller and Jennifer Smith
Malmo – Bryce Urbanek
McCook – Shawn Pfanstiel
Norfolk – Kimberly Anderson and Paul Niedbalski
North Platte –  James Conley, Antonio Diaz, Turner Dorr,
Rebecca Gosnell and Kari Sawyer
Omaha – Jonathan Flanagan, Zachary Harbert, Katie Langenfeld,
Sarah Mellick, Jodi Phillips and Micah Yost
Ord – Jacob Neeman
Osmond – Kari Ekberg
Palmer – Amanda Dubas and Mandy West
Papillion – Amanda Foy and Elizabeth Nordbrock
Plattsmouth – Megan Kumler
Ralston – Adam Grazier
Riverdale – Danielle Jahnke
Scottsbluff – Lindsey Bennett
Sidney – Brendee Brauer
St. Paul – Adam White
Wayne – Emily Brady and Joseph Brumm
West Point – Phillip Erb
Wood River – Timothy Davis and Sarah Uhrich

Longmont – Megan Busch
Nathrop – Leslie Scifres
Paonia – Adrienne Olin

Cedar Falls – Sarah Fritsche
Cedar Rapids – Corey Marz
Conrad – Brett Kluever

Garden City – Kerri Myers

Herndon – Kimberly Minnig

Gillette – Nicholas Brennan

Japan – Shozaburo Takahashi