UNK Chancellor Doug Kristensen Announces 2005 Recipients of the Mary Jane and William R. Nester Awards

Chancellor Doug Kristensen

Chancellor Doug Kristensen today announced the names of recipients of the prestigious Mary Jane and William R. Nester Student Leadership Awards for 2005.

Dr. William R. Nester served as the chancellor of Kearney State College/University of Nebraska at Kearney from 1983 to 1993. After his retirement, Dr. Nester and his wife Mary Jane established the Mary Jane and William R. Nester Student Leadership Award to recognize outstanding seniors. Students are nominated for the award. Nominees then complete an informational form, which is reviewed by a selection committee.

In making the announcement, Chancellor Kristensen said, “These are students who have demonstrated exemplary service, character and leadership while excelling academically during their college career.” Only 12 awards are given each spring to selected graduating seniors.

The 2005 recipients are listed below in alphabetical order by hometown:

Butte – Amber Tiefenthaler, elementary education K-6 and physical education 7-12
         Craig – Michelle McGeorge, history education 7-10 and political science education 7-12
Eustis – Kevin Keller, elementary education K-6 and middle grades 4-9
Grand Island – Katherine (Katie) Frost, chemistry comprehensive
Harvard – Brett Chloupek, information systems and geography
         Kearney – Ashley Scantling, exercise science 
Norfolk –
  Kimberly Short, family studies and elementary education K-6/middle grades
         North Platte – Jesse Cain, organizational communication
         Palisade – Brian Britten, information systems 
Ravenna –
 Cynthia Waskowiak, political science and psychology
  Wayne –  Jeff Ensz, political science 

         Colorado Springs – Jered Butts, journalism: mass media

         Rybnitsa – Olga Stasishena, business administration comprehensive and political science