Jim Rundstrom
director of the UNK Alumni Association, 308.865.8474

Chuck Lindly (Class of 1952) of Rapid City, S.D., is the newly-elected president of the University of Nebraska at Kearney Alumni Association.

Lindly, who spent 17 years as a professor of education at the University of Wyoming, is a retired educator who also held positions as a teacher, coach, principal and superintendent. Lindly assumed the duties at the association’s annual board of directors meeting earlier this month. He replaces Angela Regenos (Class of 1984) of Kearney.

Other officers for the 2004-2005 year are Kent Holen (Class of 1961) of Bertrand, president-elect, and Larry Edwards (Class of 1964) of Fort Collins, Colo., secretary.

Seven board members completed three-year terms on the board and are now trustees of the association. They are Kathy Schnase Horvath (Class of 1967) of Kearney; Julie Wenninghoff (Class of 1990) of Lincoln; Dallas Wymore (Class of 1974) of Kearney; Tom Oerter (Class of 1984) ofYork; Jane Carroll Falk (Class of 1985) of Peoria, Ariz.; Charles McGraw (Class of 1991) of Kearney; and Jim Allen (Class of 1990) of Waukee, Iowa.Mike Fitzpatrick (Class of 1963) of Omaha, who served as the Alumni Association president in 2002-2003, completed his term on the executive committee.

New board members elected to three-year terms are Maureen Gaffney Nickels (Class of 1974) of Chapman, a field representative with the Nebraska State Education Association; Rich Rehnberg, (Class of 1971) of Holdrege, owner and president of Holdrege Feed Service Inc.; Ron Cropp (Class of 1965) of Kearney, who is retired after 33 years with St. Paul Companies; Dr. Shane Jensen (Class of 1996) a dentist in Kearney; Lee Ann Purdy Olson (Class of 1982) of Kearney, environmental health and safety manager at UNK;  Ken Vergith (Class of 1978) an engineer with Burlington Northern Pacific Railroad in Lincoln; Keith Jorgensen (Class of 1950) of Mission Viejo, Calif., retired mathematics professor at Orange Coast College; Larry Feather (Class of 1966), president of Feather Petroleum Company in Grand Junction, Colo.; Erik Estes (Class of 2001), of Highlands Ranch, Colo., sales engineer with Eaton Electrical; and Teresa Thomsen Muller (Class of  1984) of Iola, Kan., dean of instruction at Allen County Community College.