Ann Tillery

University of Nebraska at Kearney Chancellor Doug Kristensen announced the selection of Peggy Nyffeler and Linda Clark as recipients of the Staff Awards for Excellence. The awards were presented at UNK’s Faculty/Staff  Opening Convocation on August 23.

Peggy Nyffeler, associate director of Student Health Services, has been with UNK since 1986. “Her professionalism and dedication to her job and her community are the reasons she has been chosen for this award,” Kristensen said. Kristensen went on to say that “Peggy gives 100 percent to everything  she does and is a motivating force in her department both at work and in  encouraging others to volunteer in the community.” Nyffeler received her B.S. in Nursing from the University of Nebraska at  Lincoln in 1972 and went on to earn her certification in College Health  Nursing from the American Nurses Association.

The second Staff Award for Excellence recipient was Linda Clark, secretary  specialist for the Dean’s Office, College of Business and Technology. Clark began at UNK/KSC in 1969 and briefly left the college from 1983-1988 and worked for Minden Public Schools.

“Linda is known for her resourcefulness and her many activities on campus and in the community,” Kristensen said. Clark has been recognized as  employee of the Month for November 1995, was given the KUDOS by the Board of Regents in December 1995 and was a member of the Leadership Kearney class of  1996-97.

While working full-time, she continued to work on her undergraduate degree and earned the B.S. in Business Administration with an Emphasis in Human  Resource Management in 2001.

This is the fourth year UNK has honored outstanding contributions made by  their professional and support staff.