Dr. Ken Nikels

The University of Nebraska at Kearney announced the recipients of the 2002 Research Mentor Awards. This award is given to faculty members who have served as mentors for student research for at least three years with different students and this work has been published or presented outside of the classroom.

Faculty are nominated by students and other faculty and then are allowed to apply for the award. A selection committee for each college then awards a faculty member. James Scott, associate professor of Political Science, received a campus-wide award in recognition of his outstanding efforts in serving as a mentor for undergraduate student research. This year’s recipients are listed below:

Business and Technology:
David Palmer, Management/Marketing

Kenya Taylor, Communication Disorders

Fine Arts and Humanities:
Mike Benzel, English

Natural and Social Sciences:
James Scott, Political Science

Graduate Studies:
Wyatt Hoback, Biology