UNK-The Nebraska Safety Center on the University of Nebraska at Kearney campus recently hosted the Nebraska Association of Transit Providers Annual Driver Training and Roadeo Competition. The event was held on Sept. 26 and 27. The first day participants attended driver’s training sessions at the Holiday Inn in Kearney. The following day the group completed an obstacle course and also took written exams at the Nebraska Safety Center. Demonstrations were held to show the proper safety procedures for passengers using wheelchairs and a vehicle inspection for common problems.

Participants included:

Alda – Jim Burnett, Hall Co. Handi Bus
Aurora – Randy Smith, Hamilton County Handi Bus
Broken Bow – Lisa Mosher, Broken Bow City
Burwell – Terrell Sanders, Community Memorial Health Center
Busnell – Kelly Durbin, Kimball County
Central City – Terra Buller, Central City Senior Center
Central City – Linda Volkman, Central City Senior Center
Chappell – Cynthia Wilber, Deuel County Mini Bus
Culbertson – Sharon M. Brown
Dalton – Carl Farmer, City of Sidney Handi Bus
David City – Beverly Coufal, Butler Co. Transit
David City – Robert Langhorst, Butler Co. Transit
David City – Judy Pollacek, Butler Co. Senior Services Program
Edison – Marilyn Shaffer, Tri-Valley Health System
Falls City – Brenda Guilliams, Senca Driver for Richard Co. Handi Bus
Grand Island – Larry Korbelik, Hall Co. Handi Bus
Grant – Sandra Dearver, Senior Center
Hastings – Raymond Davison, Adams Co. Senior Services
Hastings – Shirley Slansky, Midland Area Agency on Aging
Holdrege – Randy Towndrow, Phelps Co. Senior Center
Humbolt – Colleen Sweeney, Senca-Pawnee County Handi Bus
Loup City – Margaret Kuszak, City of Loup City
McCook – Sandy Brown, City of McCook
Nebraska City – Jack Thompson
Neligh – Elaine Hamm, City of Neligh
Neligh – John Hanlin, City of Neligh NE-Dial-a-Ride
Neligh – Phillip James, City of Neligh
Neligh – Donna Payne, Neligh City Council
Norfolk – Dale Weaver, Norfolk Handi Bus
Ogallala – Jean McMillan, Ogallala Handi Bus
Ogallala – Carol Maxon, Ogallala Handi Bus
O’Neill – Brenda Halstead, Avera St. Anthony’s Hospital
O’Neill – Charolotte Hamilton, Avera St. Anthony’s Hospital
Orleans – Michael Moody Ray, Phelps Co. Transportation
Red Cloud – Mildred D Crable, Webster Co. Transport
Syracuse – Carol Graham, Blue Rivers area Agency on Aging
Taylor – Marianne Lona, Community Memorial Health Center
Taylor – Owen Long, Community Memorial Health Center
Tobias – Dorothy Bartels, Saline County Area Transit/Admin
Tobias – Junior E. Bartels, Saline County Area Transit/Admin
Tobias – Carol Rasert, Saline County Area Transit/Admin
Wahoo – Iva Carlson, Saunders Co. Handi Van
Wilber – Arids Niederklein, Saline County Area Transit/Admin
Winside – Georgia Jansseu
York – Doris Bowman, York County Transit