UNK Dance opens ‘place[S]paces’ with Thursday performance

KEARNEY – The University Theatre at Kearney and UNK Dance program present “place[S]paces” Thursday through Saturday at the University of Nebraska at Kearney’s Miriam Drake Theatre.

Director of Dance Noelle Bohaty explores the “interconnected nature of place and space through movement in both commercial and concert dance.”

“place[S]paces” discovers the lenses through which we see movement in time, place and space. The evening features repertory and premiere works by UNK students, faculty and guest artists, including faculty Leslie Abegglen, guest artists Ronald Altman and Vivian Kim, and Bohaty.

Abegglen’s newest work, “Confluence,” personifies the journey of a river through Nebraska seasons, inspired by artwork featured at the Museum of Nebraska Art. Student choreography showcases work by Paige Corr of Scottsbluff, Seth Mavigliano of North Platte, Kalee Reams of Hastings, Hunter T. Scow of Scottsbluff, Jacob Wiese of Tilden and Minori Yamauchi of Japan.

The concert also presents the Community Project/Solo Series for its third year, inviting students from Heartland Conservatory of Dance to perform with the collegiate company on selected evenings.

The dance company consists of 21 performers from UNK, in collaboration with both student and faculty costume and lighting designers, including Altman and Michael DeLorm. The evening features 12 pieces, running about two hours including intermission.

When: 8 p.m. Thursday and Friday, April 25-26; 2 p.m. Saturday, April 27.
Where: Miriam Drake Theatre, UNK Fine Arts Building
Cost: General Admission tickets are $10 for general public, faculty and staff; $5 for youth age 3-18 years; Free for UNK students. For tickets, contact the UNK Box Office at 308.865.8417 or boxoffice@unk.edu.

Performers and Choreographers
Amherst – Maria Klingelhoefer
Aurora – Jordyn Parker
Crete – Lexi Powell
Curtis – Mary Storm
Hampton – Kate Klute
Hastings – Kalee Reams
Holdrege – Julia Young
Lexington – Yvette Jimenez
Lincoln – Trisha Miller, Brenden Zwiebel
North Platte – Seth Mavigliano, Erica Whipple
O’Neill – Cierra Parks
Omaha – Emma Newman
Scottsbluff – Paige Corr, Hunter Scow
Tilden – Jacob Wiese
Kansas City, Kansas – Kenan Meadows
Yokohama, Japan – Minori Yamauchi