Sororities, fraternities honored for academic excellence

KEARNEY – University of Nebraska at Kearney sororities and fraternities were honored for academic excellence at the Greek Scholarship Awards Ceremony on Sept. 25.

The Panhellenic Council, Multicultural Greek Council and Interfraternity Council recognized Greek houses with the highest overall grade point average. Awards are given each semester for previous semester grades.

The Panhellenic Council presented Alpha Phi with the Panhellenic Academic Excellence Plaque. The overall GPA for the sorority was 3.57. Alpha Omicron Pi and Gamma Phi Beta were the recipients of the Chapter of Academic Distinction Award. Both sororities had a GPA of 3.23.

The Multicultural Greek Council presented Lambda Theta Nu with the MGC Academic Excellence Award. The sorority had an overall GPA of 2.99. With a GPA of 2.90, sorority Sigma Lambda Gamma earned the Chapter of Academic Distinction Award.

The Interfraternity Council awarded Phi Gamma Delta with the Dr. William R. Nester Academic Excellence Cup. The fraternity had an overall GPA of 3.49. With a GPA of 3.31, fraternity Sigma Phi Epsilon was the recipient of the Chapter of Academic Distinction Award.

Each spring and fall semester, the Panhellenic and Interfraternity Councils also nominate two UNK faculty members to be recognized with a Distinguished Faculty Award. The award is presented to individuals who have accomplished meritorious and exemplary achievement in teaching, service and scholarship to the Greek community and student body.

The Panhellenic Council nominated Krista Fritson, associate professor in the Department of Psychology, and the Interfraternity Council nominated Ross Taylor, associate professor in the Department of Marketing and Management Information Systems.

Alexander Straatmann, a 2000 graduate of UNK, was the keynote speaker at the awards ceremony. He has been the chapter counselor for the Nebraska Gamma chapter of Sigma Phi Epsilon for the past 10 years.