Marsha Yeagley
marketing/MIS department senior lecturer, 308.865.8345

Beta Gamma Sigma international business honor society on the University of Nebraska at Kearney campus has inducted 20 undergraduate students, 40 graduate students and two faculty members into membership.

Beta Gamma Sigma is the honor society for universities arund the world affiliated with the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business International (AACSB). Membership is the highest recognition a business student can receive in a business program accredited by AACSB International, according to Marsha Yeagley, UNK senior lecturer in marketing/MIS.

Established in 2006, the UNK chapter invites the top 10 percent of junior and senior business majors, and the top 20 percent of MBA students to join. Beta Gamma Sigma members receive lifetime recognition for outstanding academic achievements, a scholarship program, lifelong learning through BGS News and BetaNet, career networking program, alumni chapter activities and discounts, and special offers on various professional products and services.

The honor society has 500 collegiate chapters in all 50 states, and 19 countries and territories. There are currently more than 650,000 members.

Newly inducted faculty members are Dr. Kay Hodge, an associate professor of management, and Dr. Janet Lear, an assistant professor of economics.

UNK undergraduate student inductees are listed below, alphabetically by hometown:

Alma- Carli Heft, business administration

Beaver Crossing- Travis Arnold,  business administration – accounting

Elba- Shari Spilinek, business administration – finance

Elkhorn- Samantha  Seina, business administration – marketing

Fremont- Marissa Niday, business administration – management

Grand Island- Zachary Shultz, business economics

Grand Island- Amanda Swenson, business administration

Kearney- Anne Maina,  business administration – accounting

Kearney- Jessica Telford, business administration – accounting

Lexington- Bridget Seberger, business administration – accounting

Newman Grove- Alyshia Nelson, business administration – marketing

North Platte- Jeffrey Bryant, business administration – accounting

Omaha- Hillary Thompson, business administration

Plainview- Trey Boyer, business administration – finance

Red Cloud- Aliese Hoffman, business administration

Silver Creek- Jacob Sawatzky, business administration – accounting

Spencer- Chaney Black, business administration

Valley- Luke Conrad, business administration – marketing

Waco- Jackie Ziemke, business administration – marketing

Wood River-  Abbie  Davis, business economics comprehensive


Graduate student inductees are listed below, alphabetically by hometown:   Grand Island- Tara Davis, business administration

Kearney- Keri Carder, business administration

Kearney- Abigail Hughes, business administration

Verdigre- Ross Pierce, business administration