Alison Hedge Coke
Reynolds Endowed Chair, 308.865.8672

The Reynolds Poetry and Creative Writing Scholarships have been announced at the University of Nebraska at Kearney for the 2012-2013 academic year.

Lacey McPhillips of Lindsay and Brittany Cudaback of Kearney tied for first place, each receiving $400. Second place was awarded to Shelby Krause of Lincoln, and Brittany Nielsen of Eustis received third place. Amanda Majer of Gibbon and Michael Coe of Grand Island received fourth place and honorable mention, respectively.

“The 2012-2013 Reynolds Scholars bring a diverse literary punch to the campus community at UNK,” said Allison Hedge Coke, associate professor of English and Reynolds Chair. “The two students tied for first place give a generous gifting of poetry that stretches from performance to pristine page.”

To be considered for the scholarship, students must be English majors, submit 10 pages of creative work from any genre and complete a formal scholarship application. The scholarships are gifted by the Paul and Clarice Kingston Reynolds endowment to UNK and the NU Foundation. The scholarships may be awarded to either undergraduate or graduate level creative writing students. Creative writing includes poetry, short stories, novels, creative non-fiction essays, play scripts and screenplays.

A panel of English faculty members review the applications and creative manuscripts, and provide the Reynolds Chair their scores and preferences for naming.