Jazz-Rock Ensemble in Concert Saturday, Dec. 4, at UNK

Dr. Jim Payne
Jazz Rock Ensemble director, 308.865.8606

UNK– Big band music from the swing era will be featured during the University of Nebraska at Kearney Jazz-Rock Ensemble concert on Saturday, Dec. 4.

Under the direction of Dr. Jim Payne, UNK professor of music, the Jazz-Rock Ensemble will present a concert of big band sounds with works from the swing era to newer charts of the big bands of the present. The concert, which is free and open to the public, will begin at 7:30 p.m. in the Fine Arts Recital Hall, which is located in the UNK Fine Arts Building.

According to Dr. Payne, the Jazz-Rock Ensemble will perform jazz pieces styled in several types of swing, Latin, rock, jazz rock fusion, contemporary jazz, ballad, hip-hop and funk.

The concert will also feature solos on the piano, guitar, trumpet, trombone, drums, and alto and tenor saxophones. Dr. Seth Fletcher, UNK low brass lecturer, will also perform a solo on the euphonium during “No More Blues,” which was written by Brazilian composer Antonio Carlos Jobim.

“Dr. Fletcher is bringing his wonderful talent as a low brass player to the ensemble, again showing his extensive performing experience in many different styles,” Dr. Payne said.

The Jazz-Rock Ensemble is by audition only. Members are listed below, alphabetically by hometown.

BEATRICE– Troy Ehmke, tenor saxophone
COZAD– Andee Bubak, trumpet
GRAND ISLAND– Ted Fattig, guitar; Andrea Hesterman, trumpet; Ryne Miller, baritone saxophone; Eric Rempe, trombone; and Jacob Ronne, trombone
HOLDREGE– Eric Jones, drums
KEARNEY– Tyler Allen, trombone and bass
LEXINGTON– Dayvid Cardenas, drums and bass; and Joel Montes, drums
MCCOOK– Casey Cobb, tenor saxophone
MINDEN– Will Gleason, trumpet; Jonathan Hunzeker, trombone; Spencer Mills, trumpet; Vergil Nelson, trombone; and Matthew Stubbs, trumpet
O’NEILL– Jordan Peterson, keyboard


SOUTHFIELD – Anthony Ford, tenor saxophone


JAPAN– Maiko Oku, alto saxophone; and Masahoshi Shikazawa, guitar