Four Kearney Educators Being Inducted Into UNK Academy For Teacher Education Excellence Thursday (April 29)

Dr. Ed Scantling
UNK College of Education Dean, 308.865.8502

UNK- Four Kearney educators–two university professors and two elementary school teachers–will be inducted into the Academy for Teacher Education Excellence at the University of Nebraska at Kearney on Thursday, April 29, according to Dr. Ed Scantling, UNK dean of the College of Education.

The four and their affiliations include Robin Bennet, Meadowlark Elementary School; Jeanne McClemens, Park Elementary School; Dr. Paul Bishop, UNK health, physical education, recreation and leisure studies professor; and Dr.John Anderson, UNK political science professor.

The inductees will be recognized during a 3 p.m. program at the UNK Health and Sports Center Room 150/151. Along with receiving the recognition, each inductee will receive a $1,000 professional development grant that can be used to support their work in preparing teachers.

“The purpose of the academy is to recognize, reward and support the excellence that ‘select’ teacher educators demonstrate in the preparation of new professionals for the P-12 education profession,” Dr. Scantling said. “Inductees represent professionals who work in the schools as educators or as faculty members at UNK.”

“The 2010 class of inductees is particularly strong and very representative of the many dedicated educators who commit themselves each year to working with future teachers from UNK,” he said adding, “We are indebted to them for their long-term work with our students.”

In the nomination for Bennet, Dr. Jane Strawhecker, UNK associate professor of teacher education, said: “She (Bennet) regularly works with UNK student teachers, and for the past six years, she has enthusiastically opened her door to math methods students from UNK. Each year, our students are inspired by Ms. Bennett’s creativity, love for children and enthusiasm for elementary teaching

“Robin has a desire to continue to learn and has participated in every UNK Teacher Education Program of Excellence Math workshop and most recently joined the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics,” she said.

McClemens was nominated by Dr. Dawn Mollenkopf, a UNK associate professor of teacher education. In her nomination, Dr. Mollenkopf said: “Jeanne is an outstanding teacher who inspires those who visit her class. Students comment regularly about how much they learn in Jeanne’s classroom, and are inspired by her high energy, enthusiasm and her exceptional ability to teach her kindergarten children to maximize their potential.

“She (McClemens) sees herself as a lifelong learner, and loves to share what she has learned at conferences and through reviewing professional Web sites. Her commitment to learning is what enables her to be the great teacher she is,” Dr. Mollenkopf concluded.

A leader and strong advocate for teacher education in the UNK College of Education for more than 30 years, Dr. Bishop coordinates the Adapted Physical Education Program and the MAE Physical Education Master Teacher program. He has published extensively and is known nationally as a leader in the field of adapted physical education.

“Dr. Bishop excels in the classroom where he has high expectations for his students, and he has a real passion for working with student teachers in the schools and in the adapted physical education classroom, ” Dr. Scantling said. “Dr. Bishop’s advice is valued by all, because it is rooted in best practice with a heavy dose of wisdom gained over a lifetime of teaching.”

A former K-12 teacher, Dr. Anderson was nominated by Dr. Dennis Potthoff, professor and chair of the UNK Department of Teacher Education. Dr. Potthoff said: “He (Dr. Anderson)) has demonstrated a sustained passionate commitment to the preparation of UNK teaching candidates. He is a driving force for the TE 100/PSCI 110 curriculum. The courses are conceptually woven together and reflect UNK’s commitment to promoting the role of schools/schooling in a democratic society.

“Dr. Anderson has a deep and extensive involvement in the National and Nebraska Networks for Educational Renewal, and has published regularly on schools, democracy and education.”