Curt Carlson
Vice Chancellor for University Relations, 308.865.8529

UNK- University of Nebraska at Kearney Vice Chancellor Curt Carlson has been elected to serve on an advisory council for the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU).

Carlson, who is vice chancellor for the UNK Office of University Relations, will serve on the AASCU Advisory Council for Communications and Public Affairs.

Comprised exclusively of the chief communications officers from among the 430 member institutions, the council assists the vice president for communications by offering campus and system-based perspectives on the effectiveness of AASCU’s communications, marketing and public affairs programs, and by providing leadership for and encouraging member support of AASCU’s communications initiatives that promote member campuses. The council also sponsors an annual conference for senior public relations and marketing leadership.

Marcus Whitt, associate vice president for public relations and chief communications officer at Eastern Kentucky University, will chair the council for 2010-2011; the council will be vice-chaired by Marshall Collins, assistant vice president for marketing and communications at Texas A&M University, Corpus Christi.

Other members of the advisory council, and their campuses, include: Robert Caswell, University of Southern Maine; Janice Cooper, University of West Florida; Richard Culver, Salisbury University (Md.); Christian Flathman, Georgia Southern University; Kathryn Holten, Winthrop University (S.C.); Paul Kincaid, Missouri State University; Mark Kinders, Northeastern State University (Okla.); Sara Kuhl, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater; Deborah Leliaert, University of North Texas; Barbara O’Malley, The University of Akron (Ohio); Paul R. Shelly, New Jersey Association of State College and Universities; Ken Swisher, University of Nevada Las Vegas; and Cora Zaletel, Colorado State University, Pueblo.