All Choir Concert Scheduled for Sunday, Feb. 28, at UNK

Dr. David Bauer
Department of Music, 308-865-8609

UNK – The University of Nebraska at Kearney will present an all choirs concert titled, “A Time for Life,” on Sunday, Feb. 28, in the UNK Fine Arts Recital Hall.

The concert, which is free and open to the public, will feature four student ensembles, including the Choraleers, UNK Vocal Collegium, University Women’s Choir and University Men’s Choir, all under the direction of Dr. David Bauer. The Kearney High School Chorale, a mixed chorus, will also perform during the concert.

The University Men’s Choir and Women’s Choir will open the concert with three movements from Randall Thompson’s composition of “Frostiana.” The Women’s choir will also perform “Dies Irae.” According to Dr. Bauer, UNK director of choirs, “Dies Irae” will be an audience pleaser, because of its accentuated rhythms and towers of full sonorities.

The UNK Vocal Collegium, a small vocal ensemble selected from current members of the Choraleers, and known for performing a cappella literature, will sing two early Renaissance compositions titled, “Ubi Caritas” and “Where charity and love are, God is there.”

The Choraleers, whose members are selected through competitive auditions, will open their portion of the concert with a composition titled, “Knowee.”

“It is an amazing composition that at various points divides the choir into 13 separate voice parts,” Dr. Bauer said. “Its rhythmic energy, coupled with overtone singing and the plaintive soprano line, is a great joy to sing.”

In addition, the Choraleers will perform “Song for Athene,” a composition performed at the funeral of Princess Diana of Whales in 1997. They will conclude with a song made popular by Gospel singer Mahalia Jackson titled, “If I can Help Somebody.”

A highlight of the concert will include the Kearney High School Chorale. They will join the Choraleers for the final song of the concert titled, “The Seals Lullaby.”

“It is a beautiful lullaby that will send the audience home humming,” Dr. Bauer said.

The members of each chorus are listed below alphabetically by hometown, state and country:


Albion– Rudi Sup, Dustin McBride
Arapahoe– Aaron McCoy, Joshua Beck
Columbus– Alexander Ritter, Jonathan Danforth
Dalton– Blake Thompson
Edison– Russell Miller 
Elwood– Jessica Ferguson
Fremont– Bronwyn Mitchell 
Grand Island– Phillip Zuehlke, Patrick York, Shaylie Murphy, Aranea Push
Hastings– Christine Cottam
Holdrege– Brooke Scripter, Amber Kosmicki
Hordville– Trevor Schnabel
Humphrey– Jordan Costello 
Imperial– Nicholas Talbott
Juniata– Addison Heeren
Kearney– Morgan Behle, Janelle Beutler, Joshua Englund, Sarah Hild,  Amy Jensen, Matthew Jensen, Jarrett Johnston, Mary Lanka, Madeline Mawby, Kaylei Oliver, Mark Rauert, Katherine Ridder, James Russell, Kassie Sabah, James Wolf
Kimball– Lisa Childs
Lincoln– Tyler Smith, Dana Hilde
Milford– Kendra Larsen
North Platte– Robbie HeinzenMichael Conley
Ogallala– Deidre Volberding, Lauren Rudolph, Johanna Engel
Omaha– Sydney Broyles
O’Neill– Jordan Peterson
Ord– Robert Roth
Osmond– Clint Dennis
Overton– Jalisa Bauer
Seward– Katherine Bauer
Tecumseh– Derek Wolken

Woodland Park– Shawna Beeler

Gulf Breeze– Anthony Ward

Adel– Kirk Reisetter

Goodland– Jillian Parker 
Herndon– Kendra Solko
Norton- Danielle Wuest
Oberlin– Kenzie Fisher


Arapahoe– Aaron McCoy
Edison– Russell Miller
Grand Island– Aranea Push, Mark Rauert, Patrick York
Holdrege– Amber Kosmicki, Brooke Scripter
Kearney– Kassie Sabah
Lincoln– Dana Hilde, Tyler Smith
Ogallala– Deidre Volberding
Seward– Katherine Bauer

Woodland Park– Shawna Beeler

Courtland– Danielle Wuest
Goodland– Jillian Parker

Men’s Chorus:

Alma– Sam Doubet
Arapahoe– Joshua Beck
Axtell– Kellin Myers
Burwell– Dillon NelsonJames Weber
Columbus– Jonathan Danforth
Gering– Luke Stobel 
Kearney– Zac Benson, Kyle Garrelts, Jose Munoz, Brock Persson
Lexington– Dayvid Cardenas, Joel Montes
Lincoln– Nate Rocke
North Platte– Zachary Powers 
Ogallala– Mark Messner
Osmond– Clint Dennis
Scottsbluff– Zachary Durbin
Shelton– Seth Moninger 
Sutherland– Jacob French
Thedford– Alan Holt
Waco– Dustin Dye
Wood River– Adam Roy

Burlington– Codie Milford

Bahamas– Rudolph McKinney 
Panama- Asa Bryant

Women’s Chorus:

Auburn– Hannah Om 
Axtell– Kelsey Ritter
Bayard– Jennifer McMurtry 
Belgrade– Jami Scott
Bertrand– Calli Samuelson 
Bridgeport– Jaicee Post
Columbus– Amanda Perdue 
David City– Megan Buresh
Dickens– Brooke Harris 
Elwood– Jessica Ferguson
Fremont– Bronwyn Mitchell 
Grand Island– Eryn Etienne
Gretna– Jessica Bowden
Hastings– Cjrostome Cottam
Hildreth– Amaryah Fritz
Holdrege– Kaylee Jones
Humphrey– Jordan Costello
Juniata– Abbie Schuyler
Kearney– Annette Bierbower, Sarah Hild
Kenesaw– Michelle Duffy
Kimball– Danielle Perry
Lincoln– Jennifer Smith, Jennifer Zumwalt 
McCook– Nicole Green, Chris Stetzel
Ogallala– Johanna Engel, Lauren Rudolph
Omaha- Megan Miller
Riverdale– Jacinda Uden 
Scottsbluff– Amy Svitak 
Scribner– Amber Schulenberg
St. Paul– Andrea Placke
Valley– Brandy Besch, Kathleen Sladek
Waco– Elle Bruns
Wilcox– Logan Farley

Hoxie– Kylie Lewis

China– Chuanyao Zheng
Japan– Mana Sano