O.K. Bouwsma and Donovan Welch Family Scholarship Recipients Announced at UNK

Dr. Dave Rozema
Department of Philosophy professor, 308.865.8298

UNK- The 2009 recipients of the O.K. Bouwsma and Donovan Welch Family Scholarships have been announced at the University of Nebraska at Kearney.  

The scholarships, which are awarded through the UNK Department of Philosophy, recognize strong philosophical writing. The recipients are selected by an essay competition where the essays are read, judged and ranked by the members of the philosophy department.  
The O.K. Bouwsma Scholarship was created by a $200,000 gift from an anonymous donor. The award was named after Dr. O.K. Bouwsma, a professor of philosophy at the University of Nebraska – Lincoln from 1928 to 1965. During his 37 years at UNL, Dr. Bouwsma was considered an outstanding teacher and a leading scholar, which later earned him the Outstanding Nebraskan faculty award. Dr. Welch, a UNK emeritus professor of English and an award-winning poet, taught at UNK from 1959 through the 2009 spring semester.
Scholarship recipients are listed below, alphabetically by hometown, and by scholarship:

Welch Family Scholarship: 

Arapahoe– Rachel Prieksat, $2,000

O.K. Bouwsma Scholarships: 

Hemingford– Chris Deans, $500
Kearney– Matt Ingersoll, $500; and Mark Rauert, $500.
Omaha– Justin Zyla, $1,500
O’Neill– Morgan Hull, $500
Sidney– Kent Feuerborn, $2,000
Sutherland– Ryan Dethlefsen, $500


Ulysses– Kimberly Heil, $1,500
Cedar Falls– Emily Polmateer, $500
Mora– Ivan Peterson, $500