New Music Compositions Premiered at Eighth Annual New Music Fesival Concerts Monday and Tuesday, March 30-31,

Dr. Darleen Mitchell
UNK Department of Music and Performing Arts, 308.865.8632

UNK- New music compositions from 18 composers from across the nation and around the world will be showcased at the eight-annual New Music Festival concerts Monday and Tuesday at the University of Nebraska at Kearney.

The concerts will take place at 5:30 and 7:30 p.m. on Monday, March 30, and 5:30 p.m. on Tuesday, March 31. All performances will be in the UNK Fine Arts Recital Hall, and are free and open to the public. The festival is under the direction of Dr. Darleen Mitchell, UNK associate professor of music composition, who also has work featured in the two-day event.

Among the international composers whose work will be performed are Kang-Gyu Lee from South Korea and Jen-Kuang Chang of Taiwan. Out-of-state composers include: Bruce Reprich, Arizona; Michael Walworth, California; Matthew Durrant, Idaho; Frank Felice, Indiana; Delvyn Case, Massachusetts; W. Thomas McKenney, Missouri; William Vollinger, New Jersey; Anthony Iannaccone and Katherine Hoover, both of New York; and Suzanne Sorkin, Pennsylvania. In addition to Dr. Mitchell, Nebraskans Robert Roth of Comstock and Matthew Morse of Omaha have works featured.

Selected UNK faculty will perform the composition. They include Dr. Nathan Buckner, Dr. Sharon Campbell, Dr. Jan Harriott, Dr. Mitchell, Dr. Marilyn Musick, Franziska Nabb, Dr. Noah Rogoff and Dr. Andrew White.

The participating student performers, and the instruments they play, are listed below, alphabetically by hometown:

Troy Ehmke, alto saxophone
Robert Roth, trumpet 
Tyler Allen, bass 
Jon Flanagan, trumpet; Katie Langenfeld, bassoon; and Matthew Morse, percussion 
Jordan Peterson, piano

Michael Walworth, piano


Ayae Mori
Shizuoka- Chihiro Sugano