Susan Deiger
UNK Theatre, 308.865.8406

A Little Night Music,  a musical comedy based on a 1954 Ingmar Bergman film, opens Wednesday, Dec. 29, in the University of Nebraska at Kearney Miriam Drake Theatre.
The production (which is being performed Wednesday – Sunday, Nov. 29 – Dec. 3) assembles a team of couples, ex-couples and would-be couples, and guides them through a game of love at a country house party during one heady midsummer weekend in 1900. Set in Sweden, the musical traces the incarnations of love through the intersecting relationships of the characters.
“A post-modern treatment of human relationships, this is a story about seeking a correct relationship in a world full of choices,” said Jack Garrison, director and a UNK associate professor of theatre. The production is appropriate for those who are of high school age and above.
The Bergman film, which was based on a book by Hugh Wheeler, was titled Smiles of the Summer Night.  The production features music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim.    
Performances of A Little Night Music  begin at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday – Saturday. On Sunday, Dec. 3, there will be a 2 p.m. matinee. Tickets are $10 for adults, $7 for non-UNK students, seniors and UNK faculty and staff, $5 for groups of 10 or more, and $3 for UNK students with a valid ID.
For reservations, contact the Theatre Box Office at 308-865-8417 or boxoffice@unk.edu.

Cast members are listed below alphabetically by hometown, along with the character they play:
Steve Ingemansen as Fredrik Egerman                
               David City- Ashley Rae Kobza as Desiree Armfeldt                
               Gibbon- Jenna Johannsen as Countess Charlotte Malcolm                        
               Grand Island- Alicia Spelts as Mrs. Anderssen and
                                  Phillip Zuehlke as Mr. Erlanson                
               Hastings- Katy Fagiolo as Malla;                                
               Kearney- Joseph Knispel as Henrik Egerman;                
                              Kyle Kuypers as Bertrand;        
                              Sam Ratzlaff as Mr. Lindquist; and                        
                             Stacey Wood as Madame Armfeldt        
               Kenesaw- Kelsey Burr as Osa                                
               North Platte- Brette Covington as Petra                                
               Omaha- Jordan Litherland as Anne Egerman                                        
               Plattsmouth- Matthew Nicholson as Count Carl-Magnus Malcolm        
               Seward- Katherine Bauer as Fredricka Armfeldt                
               Taylor- Andrew Nelson as Frid

                               Imizu gun-
Minami Okamura as Mrs. Nordstrom
                                Osaka- Emi Kamon as Mrs. Segstrom        
       Stage managers, listed alphabetically by hometown, include:

                        Columbus- Elizabeth Uchtman, assistant stage manager        
                        Elgin- Shauna Warren, stage manager                        
                       Omaha- Marie Poly, assistant stage manager

The theatre faculty/staff artistic team includes Shawn Deiger, sound designer and master electrician; Kimberly Jones, costume designer;   Ron Koinzan, lighting designer and technical director; and David Tidwell, scenic designer.