Michelle Widger
UNK Alumni Association, 308.865.8474

The Gold Torch Society, a mentoring group that pairs students and alumnae, is meeting Friday and Saturday, Sept. 15 and 16, at the University of Nebraska at Kearney.
Through The Gold Torch Society, a group of alumni women lend their guidance, encouragement and career experience to young women at UNK. The meetings will feature sessions covering topics including balancing career and family, leadership, financial planning, networking and taking the leap into the workforce after graduation.
Alumni and students are spending time networking and establishing mentoring relationships.
Sponsored by the UNK Alumni Association, The Gold Torch Society provides alumni the opportunity to return to campus and share a weekend of activities and special events with a select group of UNK undergraduate women.
“The society’s alumnae members are strong, successful women from a variety of backgrounds, including education, politics, medicine, business and journalism,” said Jim Rundstrom, executive director of the UNK Alumni Association. “It is wonderful to see the relationships that have formed because of the Gold Torch Society.”
Alumni are nominated for a three-year membership in the society; student membership is for one year and is by application only.
Twenty-three UNK alumnae are participating this year. Listed alphabetically by community, they include:
          Chapman- Maureen Nickels, 1974

     Kearney – Tammie Blaha, 1984; Dr. Kimberly Carlson, 1992; Denise
         Christensen, 1980; Krista Sheldon Fritson, 1988; Tammy Hayden,
         1990; Dee Dee Schutte Kitzelman, 1990; Julie Slaughter Larsen,
         1977; Kimberly M. Ziola Oliphant, 1989; Marsha Rodehorst Wilkerson,
         1990; Sandy Rosse, 1993; Catherine L. Luebbe Sanchez, 1999;
         Renae Riddle Zimmer, 1991;

         Lincoln – Lexie Hollertz, 2000

Minden –  Brenda Snodgrass Christensen, 1983
Omaha –  Norma Deeb, 1970; Barbara Schroeder, 1974; Jeanette Keller Wojtalewicz, 1984

         Papillion – Tiffanie Welte Gauchat, 1992

     Atlanta– Jennifer L.  Johnson, 1994
     Hilo – Alison B. Peck, 1994


         Bettendorf – Holly J. Nikels, 1993


There are 25 student members of the society. Listed alphabetically by hometown, they include:

Ainsworth –  Brindi Utemark
Beemer –  Greta Lierman
Bertrand –  Brooke McGee
Brady –  Jael J. Johnson
Edgar –  Stein Elting
Elm Creek – Sarah Marshall
Giltner – Kelsey Meyer
Greenwood –  Tessa Mills
Hartington –  Kayla Marie Wiebelhaus
Hemingford –  Brittani Moeller
Holdrege –  Breann (Hershberger) Horn
Kearney – Jenna Shipporeit
Loomis –  Tawna Leach
Nebraska City – Jacqueline Hubl
North Loup – Nicki Hansen
Omaha –  Amy Mathis
O’Neill –  Jamie Lee Babutzke
Paxton –  Drew Youngs
Sutherland –  Brianne Stevenson
Waco –  Michelle Foley
York –  Jennifer Wilton
            Paoria – Adrienne Olin
Colby – Jamie Quenzer
Phillipsburg – Amanda Bugbee
South Dakota
            Buffalo – Clara Blankenbiller