Dr. Nathan Buckner
of Music and Performing Arts, 308-865-8608

Phi Kappa Phi honor society recently inducted new members at the University of Nebraska at Kearney.
Eligibility requires an outstanding status as a student enrolled at a college or university with a chapter of Phi Kappa Phi. As a junior, a student must have completed at least 72 credit hours and rank scholastically in the top 7.5 percent of their class. Seniors, as well as graduate students, must rank in the top 10 percent of their class. Faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction may also be eligible for membership.
The history of Phi Kappa Phi is rooted in 1897 at the University of Maine, where 10 senior students, two faculty members and the school president sought to create an honor society that recognized and honored excellence in all academic disciplines. Today, there are Phi Kappa Phi chapters on the campuses of nearly 300 colleges and universities in the United States, Puerto Rico and the Philippines.
New student members of Phi Kappa Phi, listed alphabetically by hometown, include:
         Ainsworth –
Brindi Utemark
         Amherst –
Jenna Derr
         Arapahoe –
Adam Haussler
         Beatrice –
Sarah Korus
         Bellevue –
Jennifer Renaud, Carlena Seeba and Leah Stortvedt
         Benkelman –
Sara Glidden
         Bridgeport –
Kristin Amateis
         Burwell –
Douglas Wadas and Matthew Breitkreutz,
         Cambridge –
Ashley Moore
         Columbus – Ruth Udey
         Cook –
Michael Wilken
         Curtis – Jody Elson
         Elwood –
Elizabeth Klein
         Eustis –
Brooke Malcom
         Fordyce –
Brenda Thoene
         Grand Island –
Kellie Prather, Adam Sevenker, Melissa Vodehnal
             and Nathan Wiegand
         Hastings –
 Suzana Cook
         Indianola –
 Kristin Harris
         Kearney –
 Rebecca Addy, Crystal Baker, LeeAnn Jameson, Lindsey
             Jurey, Brittney Maloley, Steven Middleton, Emily Murdoch, Anne
             Nagel, Anne Potts, Eric Reed, Dina Samha, Elizabeth Schnieder
             and Angela Wright
         Lexington –
 Ashley Speak and Wadad Maloley
         Lincoln –
 Holly Esquivel and Season Hoard
         Litchfield –
 Susan Poland
         Loup City –
 Kristen Day
         Norfolk –
 Carrie Divis and Tosha Werkmeister
         North Platte –
 Rebecca Gosnell, Megan Nelson and Kari Sawyer
         Omaha –
 Sarah Graddy and Alyah Stahlnecker
         O’Neill –
 Jamie Babutzke
         Osceola –
 Lucas Simonsen
         Seward –
 Jamie Fritz
         Shickley –
 Andrew Kamler,
         Sidney –
 Allison Johannes
         Spalding –
 Hilary Miller
         Superior –
 Kayla Krotzinger
         Sutherland –
 Jessica McCune and Josie McCune
         Valentine –
 Tonya Lenser
         Wayne –
 Heather Stauffer
                                Paonia – Adrienne Olin

                             Hays – Danielle Phillips 

                            Okayama – Mai Shibahara
             Sapporo –
Chisato Nii

     In addition to students, a number of UNK faculty, staff and administrators
were inducted into membership. They include:  

         Dr. Paul Burger –
Department of Geography & Earth Science
         Dr. Sandra Cook-Fong –
Department of Social Work
         Bruce Elder –
Department of Accounting & Finance
         Dr. Anne Foradori –
Department of Music & Performing Arts
         Dr. Bruce Forester –
Dean: Department of Business & Technology
         Dr. Susan Jensen –
Department of Management
         Dr. Vani Kotcherlakota –
Department of Economics
                Dr. Martha Kruse –
Department of English
                Dr. Michelle Lang – Department of Art & Art History
                Dr. Richard Lebsack – Department of Management
                Dr. Darleen Mitchell – Department of Music & Performing Arts
                Dr. Finnie Murray – Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
                Glennis Nagel – Senior Writer/Editor
                Dr. Paula Rieder –  Department of History
                Dr. Laurie Swinney – Department of Accounting & Finance
                Dr. Gene Wubbels – Department of Chemistry
                Marsha Yeagley – Department of Marketing