Corliss Süllwold
International Education associate director, 308.865.8946

A new international studies honor society is being established this month on the University of Nebraska at Kearney campus.  Phi Beta Delta will induct its first members at 4 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 16, in the Ockinga Conference Room.

A total of 51 members will be inducted, including six domestic students, 29 international students and 16 faculty members.  They will be presented with a medallion and certificate of membership.

Phi Beta Delta is an honor society for students, faculty, staff and international students who are majoring or teaching in the field of international studies, have studied abroad or who are doing research on international issues, according to Corliss Süllwold, Phi Beta Delta chapter coordinator.

To be eligible, students must be an upper division or graduate student with a grade point average of 3.0 or higher.  In addition, students must demonstrate international competency through completion of 36 UNK credit hours of international or intercultural coursework, or through experience in studying, researching, living or working abroad, as well as involvement in other international endeavors.

“The mission of Phi Beta Delta is to foster international awareness on the UNK campus,” Süllwold said.  “In addition, the society will provide an excellent vehicle for networking with individuals both nationally and internationally who have similar interests.”

Founded in 1986 at California State University, Long Beach, Phi Beta Delta is the first honor society dedicated to recognizing scholarly achievement in international education.  UNK, whose charter petition was approved last May, is one of more than 100 chapters in the United States and two chapters in Mexico.

The goals of Phi Beta Delta are 1) to recognize the scholarly achievement of international students and scholars, who have studied abroad, and faculty and staff who are involved in international activities; 2) to serve as a vehicle for the development of academic-based international programming; 3) to provide a network on each campus of faculty, staff and students involved in international endeavors; and 4) to extend this network to thousands of members in chapters throughout the world.

The new inductees are listed by hometown along with their affiliation with UNK and Phi Beta Delta below.

Domestic Students
Beatrice  Elizabeth Fielder, Spanish
Kearney Stephanie Coello, Spanish/Study Abroad Ecuador
Milligan Tara Sharp, Ireland Study Abroad
Odessa  Jodi Garrelts, Spanish
Ogallala Erica Chu, Spanish/Czech and Study Abroad
Omaha  Erin Ostberg, German and Study Abroad

UNK Faculty and Staff
Dr. Sylvia Asay, Department of Family Studies and Interior Design
Xavier Chávez, Department of Modern Languages
Dr. R. David Clark, chemistry emeritus
Jerald Fox, International Education
Dr. Eduardo González, Department of Modern Languages
Juan Guzman, Multicultural Affairs
Ann Marie Harr, Study Abroad/World Affairs Conference
Dr. Francis Harrold, dean of the College of Natural and Social Sciences
Dr. W. Wyatt Hoback, Department of Biology
Dr. Vani Kotcherlakota, Department of Economics
Robert Lind, Department of Geography
Diane Longo, English Language Institute
Dr. Richard Miller, Department of Psychology
Dr. Donald Sluti, Department of Management
Corliss Süllwold, International Student Services
Millisa Terry, English Language Institute

International Students

La Paz   Alexis Jimenez Candia, Bolivia

Teresina  Jadiel Carlos Mota, Brazil
Evaldo Albuquerque, Brazil

Bogota D. C. Jose Lois Martinez, Colombia
Sandra Marlene Ramírez, Colombia

Quito   Silvia Ximena Martínez, Ecuador

Antiquo Cuscatlán   Marta Karlana Cea, El Salvador and Study Abroad Japan

Rostock   Julia Stumkat, Germany

Freeport  Idamae Russell, Grand Bahamas

Aichi-ken  Yoko Nakaoka, Japan
Asaka-shi  Mizuki Arita, Japan
Ibaraki-ken  Kenji Sugawara, Japan
Kanagawa-ken  Akane Nagashima, Japan
Fumie Terahata, Japan
Mitoyo-gun  Michiko Iwamoto, Japan
Mizuma-gun  Yuki Yatagai, Japan
Okazaki-shi  Mami Yamamoto, Japan
Ono-shi   Takayuki Harada, Japan
Shibata   Koichi Sato, Japan
Tamura   Fumio Hashimoto, Japan
Tokyo   Yusuke Hata, Japan & Study Abroad Czech Republic
Toyama   Mizuna Matsuda, Japan
Uwagima  Mari Sakuma, Japan

Nairobi   Annetie Bosibori Ouko, Kenya

Blantyre  Saili Moghe, Malawi

Kathmandu  Sunu Shrestha, Nepal

Kosice   Jana Hudakova, Republic of Slovakia and Study Abroad

Damman  Omar Ghamedi, Saudi Arabia and Study Abroad Czech Republic

Kabwe   Devan Naik, Zambia