Dr. Nathan Buckner
of Music and Performing Arts, 308-865-8608

Sixteen history students at the University of Nebraska at Kearney have been inducted into Phi Alpha Theta national history honor society, according to Dr. Roger Davis, UNK Phi Alpha Theta adviser.

The students were initiated into membership last weekend in ceremonies held at the UNK Alumni House. Membership in Phi Alpha Theta requires students to have a 3.1 GPA in no fewer than 12 hours of history courses and a 3.0 GPA overall.

Founded in 1921, Phi Alpha Theta has an 83-year history of recognizing student achievement. The UNK chapter was founded in 1970. Today, there are 355 members and alumni.

Among the organization’s projects on the UNK campus has been the purchase of books for Calvin T. Ryan Library. In all, the honor society has purchased more than $4,500 worth of history books for the Calvin T. Ryan Library, Dr. Davis said.

The newly initiated UNK student members are listed alphabetically by hometown:
Alliance – David Christensen
          Bellevue – Tiffany Albanez
          Boelus – Jeff Wrehe
          Gering – Jessica D. Vasa
          Grand Island – Kevin Moeller and SiAra Rasmussen
          Halsey – Terra Atkins
          Kearney – Krista Carlson
          North Platte – Andrew Horn
          Omaha – Catherine Hock
          Paxton – Karen Malmkar
          St. Libory – Monica Schleicher
          Trenton – Joshua Lewis
          Wayne – Heather Stauffer

     Lowell – Adam Hogue

     Winnemucca – Monica Saenz