Janice Fronczak
Department of Theatre, 308.865.8670

Shakespeare’s Macbeth opens at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 21, in the University of Nebraska at Kearney Miriam Drake Theatre.

The production, directed by Janice Fronczak, UNK assistant professor of theatre, runs Wednesday – Saturday, April 21-24, at 7:30 p.m. and Sunday, April 25, at 2 p.m.

Tickets are $7 for adults; $5 for students, seniors, and UNK Faculty/Staff; and free to UNK students with a valid UNK ID. Tickets may be reserved through the UNK Theatre Box Office, 308.865.8417, or e-mail: Box office hours are noon to 4 p.m. on Monday, Wednesday and Friday; 11 a.m. – 4 p.m. on Tuesday and Thursday; and one hour before each performance.

Macbeth, considered by many to be William Shakespeare’s darkest work, tells the chilling tale of a king’s bloody rise to the Scottish throne and the extraordinary price he pays for his ambition. As the prophecies imparted by a trio of witches begin to ring true, the noble Macbeth makes one fatal error – rather than allowing fate to bring him his crown, he accepts his wife’s challenge and takes wicked measures to attain it. In doing so, he is drawn in to an unsettling world of evil, murder and madness from which he cannot escape.

Members of the professional artistic/production staff include: Steven Satta, fight director; Shawn Deiger, sound designer; Daniel Jones, costume designer; and David Tidwell, scenic and lighting director.

The stage manager is Larcy Shaw of Kearney; assistant stage manager, Sarah Wilden of Omaha.

The cast for Macbeth includes:
          Blair – Erin L. Burgess
          Columbus – Jakob Enzminger
          Deshler – Chad Holle
          Elgin – Katie Miller, Shauna Warren
          Elwood – Jean Duffy
          Gretna – Eve Legacie
          Hay Springs – Joshua D. Hermansen
          Kearney – Conan Christensen, Sarah J. Cole, Dr. Gene Fendt, UNK philosophy faculty; Jack Garrison, UNK theatre faculty; Rachael Miller; Kevin L. Nenstiel, Grayson Sinclair and Stacey A. Wood
          Lincoln – Seth Petersen
          McCook – Dawn Salyer
          Norfolk – Scott Schneider
          North Platte – Elizabeth Odle
          Taylor – Andrew Nelson

          Round Rock – Chance Hartman

          Kobe City – Mikako Toda
Tokyo – Takashi Morimoto