Human Resource Management Group Wins National Merit Award

Dr. Kyle Luthans
(308) 865-8113

The Collegiate Chapter of the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) of the University of Nebraska at Kearney won the National SHRM Merit Award for the second straight year.

The Merit Award is given to chapters that have met the standards set by the national organization, excel in the professional development of their members, operate their chapters efficiently and serve the needs of the local students in an exemplary manner while providing outstanding support for the profession of human resources.

“We are very proud of the activities we have been involved with and our recognition as a merit award winning chapter,” Dr. Kyle Luthans, associate professor of management/marketing and SHRM advisor,said.

Throughout 2001-2002, UNK’s Society for Human Resource Management brought in several HR managers as guest speakers, toured The Buckle Distribution Center and the Tri-City Arena to better understand their HR departments and volunteered in community service projects including ringing bells for the Salvation Army during the holiday season.

Officers for the 2001-2002 school year were: Co-Presidents Lauren Sedlacek, Ogallala and Piper Pierce, Lakewood, CO., treasurer was Carrie Hoesing, O’Neill and secretary was Dawn Chadrick, Kearney.